Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Simultaneous recordings  (Read 5219 times)

HJ10X

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Simultaneous recordings
« on: May 22, 2010, 01:31:09 PM »

Newbie here, I’ve got 4 wireless cameras (xc22a) setup with Vanguard. It works great. But I would like to record the 4 feeds at the same time. Right now, it can only “scan” and record 1 feed at the time. Any recommendations?

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Simultaneous recordings
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 05:06:51 PM »

No can do with wireless cams unless you have four seperate receivers with each camera and receiver on seperate frequencies.
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

nybuck

• Helpful Post Rating: 17
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 06:15:59 PM »

Dave W is correct, as far as getting the video.  Then you have to capture the video on your computer.

For that, I would recommend the EasyCap USB video capture "dongle", or the PCI-card 4-input video capture card.  Both are available from Amazon and most inexpensively on Ebay.

There is a catch here, though.  The least expensive models capture video at 30 frames per second Overall, or combined for all 4 channels.  That will give you either jerky video, or 1 second full-motion video on each camera, on a rotational basis.  Neither is much better than your USB VA11A/VA12A.  I had to pay a little more and get a PCI-slot internal 4-input video capture card with 120 frames per second.  Now I get all 4 cameras on my screen or recorded full-motion.  I found mine on Ebay with a little searching.  It comes with the software to detect motion and record, email screenshots, etc...

Good Luck!   ;D
>!

HJ10X

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 08:19:56 PM »

Thanks for info,
Cheers,

nybuck

• Helpful Post Rating: 17
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 09:31:39 PM »

I guess I could have been clearer...