Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: X10 Wall switch with an issue  (Read 2833 times)

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 597
X10 Wall switch with an issue
« on: June 10, 2010, 11:52:24 PM »

I have a x10 wall switch (2 wire) that is triggered by a ms12 in the basement entry way from the garage.

Every night between 8:30 pm and 9:00 pm the light it controls (that entry way) will come on.
It is a random time between that time window and is not tied to dusk / dawn as 1. I have disabled that function and 2. It happens even in the winter when the sun is down at 5:00 pm.

AH is not controlling it at all and AH was even down for two weeks and it still happened.
I just grab my icon and shut it off. It has never come on again unless someone goes downstairs and triggers the MS12. If it is on, and the ms12 is triggered, then the light will go off after the one minute timeout of the ms12.

It is just my wife and I here with a dog that hangs with us upstairs which is the main level.

It has been this way forever and every night.

Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

Bill59

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 54
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2010, 06:33:30 AM »

I had a relay type switch that would come on randomly too. I found that the cover plate must have been to tight a fit around the switch. I removed the cover plate and it stopped coming on randomly.Filed the cover plate and now its ok.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2010, 06:39:03 AM »

Neighbor using X10 and your lights address?
Since the light doesn't go back off in a minute if triggered by the MS12. Almost like a different X10 sender is turning in on/
Strange to say the least.
You don't have a wayward macro in the Icon do you?  ;D
Logged

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 597
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2010, 09:17:58 AM »

New neighbors, new icon.

So, wall switches can't store anything?
Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

jrwhit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 37
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2010, 03:13:18 PM »

Bitman,
No, I don't believe wall switches have any kind of memory associated with them.
As a test, have you tried taking the batteries out of the MS12A to see if the light still goes on? I'd be curious to see if the motion sensor is the culprit or whether some recurring powerline noise is turning on the wall switch.
Divide and conquer.
Logged

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 597
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2010, 03:52:53 PM »

Oops.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 03:54:40 PM by bitman »
Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

bitman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 597
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2010, 03:54:00 PM »

Oh I just hate setting those ms12 buggers up.

But I guess I'll have to do it.

Thanks.
Logged
Long live X10! - Because I just like it is all.....

jrwhit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 37
Re: X10 Wall switch with an issue
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2010, 12:59:16 AM »

Heard that! I'd have to think twice about pulling the batteries if it was set to P16  rofl
Might be less work to build a macro to turn light off at 9:01 PM.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.