Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer  (Read 95935 times)

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #60 on: November 24, 2010, 02:47:40 PM »

Mike & Brian........
Ironically, it's the farthest camera, (3 by my rear door), that seems to be hogging up the signal.............
I installed camera  # 4 yesterday & the same as before, no matter which camera I go too, it goes back to camera 3!
As of now I just have my pan & tilt camera. (#1), hooked up like as it, covers my front yard pretty good in all directions
I'm thinking of selling 2 cameras on E-bay & buying another pan & tilt unit to cover the back yard & be done with it, as I'm not worried bout controlling my cameras from a remote locations or through my I phone.....
I don't have any motion sensors hooked up, I have the transmitter thimgy , (the thing with the extending antenna that plugs into the AC outlet), plugged in half way between the cameras & the receiver.
I also have the "firecracker" hooked up, although I don't even know if I need that? 
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #61 on: November 24, 2010, 02:55:11 PM »

Dragnet ... I believe, what you've described is a symptom of not having the video receiver's antenna positioned properly.

It's important to have all your camera's antenna pointed (as best you can) toward your video receiver.  And to have your video receiver's antenna pointed at your cameras.  Since you have several cameras, at different locations, you must position your video receiver's antenna so that you get the best reception from all your cameras.  You'll have to experiment, by moving your video receiver's antenna, to get the best reception from all cameras.  It's frustrating and may take several attempts to get the antenna on the video receiver positioned properly.

You may also need to move your video receiver a little bit too.  Even moving it a couple of feet, horizontally/vertically, will have different results.  Keep your video receiver away from other devices, such as routers.
 
I have four cameras that are on two floors and are basically pointing in four different directions.  It took a little effort to position my video receiver so that I got good reception from all cameras.  But it can be done.   

I've turned the video receiver's antenna every which  kind of way & nothing...........
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #62 on: November 24, 2010, 08:09:34 PM »

I renamed the cameras..well 1...!
I placed the rear door camera, (the one that seems to over power the other),  to A "6"..hoping that the larger frequency gap would help. but the same keeps happening...
(I left the front door as A-3 & the pan n tilt as A-1)............
I even placed the Vanguard on SCAN,  but even though it shows on the screen as though it's scanning, it holds the picture from my rear camera, (A-6)
Also, is it normal for the transmitter to click every so often as I try & toggle though my cameras? (other than that it doesn't make a sound)
Btw, I can still pick up the image of my pan n tilt camera, (A-1), although I have to restart Vanguard a few time to do so........
Once I go to my rear camera, it pretty much stays there.....
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #63 on: November 24, 2010, 10:23:35 PM »

Ok, I'm currently NOT running the software & I just heard the transmitter click twice...Fyi is all :'
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 14
  • Posts: 959
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #64 on: November 25, 2010, 08:06:13 AM »

xmtr click?  u mean ur tm751?  it clicks only when it rcvs an A1 command!

so u r sending A1.  u need to find out why and correct it.  this is why a1 camera keeps coming on the screen id say.

but then u said u changed a1 to a6?  first, u gotta keep all 4 in sequence a1-4 or a5-8, etc so they turn each other off when they sw.

normally if u r not doing the switching urself on purpose and 1 camera stays on even when u tell another to come on, it is because it is not getting the off command via either rf (from the other cameras due to the a1-4 set) or any other way.  I would unplug it and see if ur other 3 can be controlled and switched on command.  if so, i would plug the rogue one back in close to the other 3 and the cm15 so I know it can get the rf sig from the others and the turn on command from the cm15.

short of that, i would take the rogue camera plug it in at same outlet as cm15 then use my remote control and actually turn it off by pushing a6 off button and see if it goes away.  that should confirm you have it too far away from the other cameras and/or it cannot get the power line sig to turn on from the cm15.
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #65 on: November 25, 2010, 10:17:07 AM »

Happy Thanksgiving day
I'll mess with this tomorrow
& yes by transmitter I meant the tm751!
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #66 on: November 29, 2010, 06:21:38 PM »

Ok. I can turn the cameras on & off with the remote now..... :)%
However, it still won't hold camera 3, it defaults to camera 2....ALWAYS! :)
What does da "firecracker" do......... exactly?
Does the firecracker send signals to the tm751? ???
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #67 on: November 29, 2010, 06:29:06 PM »

The serial CM17A Firecracker module sends X10 RF commands to things like the TM751 or RR501.
X10 also has a USB CM19A that sends an X10 RF command and can receive X10RF commands for processing by the computer.
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #68 on: November 30, 2010, 09:52:08 AM »

Yes, the USB CM19A "firecracker".........sends signals to my TM751?
I guess that what males it click?
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #69 on: January 07, 2011, 04:30:54 PM »

Ok, for the past few months when I launch my Vanguard, (latest edition sa26a), it says that it cannot locate the VA12 & then shuts down, sooo EVERYDAY, I  reinstall it in order to get it to work...........
It's been working till today.........
It gets stuck at 87% trying to install the drivers for the "VA10"...!
I had not noticed it was the driver for the VA10..............before, but it worked............
If I unplug the VA12, it completes the install. but then when I plug it back in it gives me the same message "cannot locate the VA12"
Today I installed AHP in the hope that it would install the proper drivers, but it did not fix the problem
I just restore my PC to 1/05 in order to remove the AHP, or anything else as it was working fine yesterday,,,,,,,,,,,,after I reinstalled the Vanguard....of coarse!
I then again attempted to reinstall the Vanguard, but it got stuck at 87% trying to install the drivers for the VA10.....
Advice..........? ???
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #70 on: January 07, 2011, 05:26:45 PM »

Btw, under my device manager it ALWAYS shows the VA12 plugged in, so it's definitely a drivers issue...I think
Logged

lodtrack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 103
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #71 on: January 25, 2011, 03:27:05 PM »

I hate to be a party pooper but if you want less frustration buy a 3rd  party usb video interface(http://us.kworld-global.com/main/prod_in.aspx?mnuid=1306&modid=10&prodid=104&flag=1 )
with any video capture software package, you can run the camera in a separate window and access it with "logmein" from logmein.com for free. You can have AHP running along with the capture software and monitor both hassle free and get good resolution. This avoids all the issues installing an add-in to AHP that is afterwords dependant on the X10 servers.
Logged

Dragnet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 47
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #72 on: January 28, 2011, 07:39:56 PM »

I hate to be a party pooper but if you want less frustration buy a 3rd  party usb video interface(http://us.kworld-global.com/main/prod_in.aspx?mnuid=1306&modid=10&prodid=104&flag=1 )
with any video capture software package, you can run the camera in a separate window and access it with "logmein" from logmein.com for free. You can have AHP running along with the capture software and monitor both hassle free and get good resolution. This avoids all the issues installing an add-in to AHP that is afterwords dependant on the X10 servers.
"Attention: this version of CyberLink software is not compatible with Windows 7
Logged

MtnLion

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #73 on: January 13, 2012, 04:05:27 PM »

Guys, it seems that there is no setting that Windows 7 thinks can make Vanguard work properly:

Fault bucket 2641631846, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: rundll32.exe
P2: 6.0.6000.16386
P3: 4549b0e1
P4: xvidns.dll
P5: 3.0.0.318
P6: 4e860d84
P7: c0000005
P8: 0005c5cd
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
C:\Users\Steve\AppData\Local\Temp\WER537D.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

These files may be available here:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_rundll32.exe_ed9b83eec6947c65c6858b780793f5ada734_2e905cef

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: b82f889b-3e28-11e1-88cb-485b3923f0f0
Report Status: 0

Faulting application name: rundll32.exe, version: 6.0.6000.16386, time stamp: 0x4549b0e1
Faulting module name: xvidns.dll, version: 3.0.0.318, time stamp: 0x4e860d84
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0005c5cd
Faulting process id: 0x1bc4
Faulting application start time: 0x01ccd23579e7e44d
Faulting application path: C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\X10\Common\rundll32.exe
Faulting module path: C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\X10\Common\xvidns.dll
Report Id: b82f889b-3e28-11e1-88cb-485b3923f0f0


I have seen the whole gamut of problems with this software (using the term generously).  I have tried single camera, multiple camera, no camera.  I have seen intermittant lengths of service, while now it seems to just want to go TU immediately, the icon is in the tray, but hovering will cause it to disappear, the application window never comes up.  What gives?  
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 04:13:16 PM by MtnLion »
Logged

asinblue

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: VA12A and Windows 7- The USB Killer
« Reply #74 on: February 01, 2012, 12:36:20 PM »

The previous content of this post violated the posted X10 General Forum User Etiquette Policy and has been removed.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2012, 12:58:21 PM by Knightrider »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.