Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: vangaurd recording question  (Read 10225 times)

bigb73

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
vangaurd recording question
« on: July 12, 2010, 01:59:17 PM »

why when I go to the folder where my videos are stored theres a ton of videos from recording. how do i set up vanguard software to make longer videos?
Logged

bigb73

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 10:35:09 PM »

anyone?
Logged

guitard00d

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 12:33:47 AM »

I (for one) am surprised you got it to record without crashing. The length of the recording is determined by the settings you enter when adding a motion detector.
Logged

ds4279

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2011, 02:22:44 PM »

The previous response was worthless. I too am having the same problem. What if we do not have a motion
detector and all we want to do is record all night nonstop. How do we create on file and not 1000 files?
Logged

guitard00d

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2011, 11:50:43 AM »

Quite simply put...Stop using Vanguard, and from what I see in the iWatchOut forum, don't even bother with that one either. If you want to use motion detectors to switch your cameras, you don't need any of X10's software, just a receiver to get the RF signals onto the powerline carrier to switch your cameras. Then go to Amazon and get one of these and use their recording software instead (it also has e-mail notifications to send snapshots to your phone):

http://www.amazon.com/EasyCap-Channel-Video-Capture-Adapter/dp/B001M547EM

You can still use their software for remote viewing, however it does require MSN Messenger to work. Easy way around that is to just install TightVNC (http://www.tightvnc.com/) on your camera monitoring computer and just use the TightVNC viewer on the computer you want to remotely view your cameras from. You will have to open up port 5900 on your home router/firewall and use a dynamic DNS service to access your computer, but hey, it's all free.

I've tried X10's remote viewer on multiple computers and it's obvious they dropped the ball on software development at version 6 of Internet Explorer. So I don't see why they're even selling it anymore, it doesn't work with any computer on the market these days.

In a nutshell...If you want an inexpensive multi video camera setup with motion detector capabilities, get one of X10's package deals. However, don't bother installing their software. Use the setup that I suggested and everything is guaranteed to work with far less pain to your head.
Logged

guitard00d

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2011, 02:35:14 AM »

As a followup...If you have $90 US that you are willing to spend on a good investment, the above setup I mentioned (minus the EasyCam interface) and the DVR software from http://www.argussurveillance.com solves all the recording and remote access problems quite nicely. It works flawlessly with the X10 video capture interface. Look at the features of this program and you will soon see what makes it worth the money. Please note, this program is fully functional in its unregistered state so you can fully evaluate it.

Again, I am just using the EagleEye motion detectors to talk to a TM751 transceiver module to switch my cameras on and off as motion is detected. When all the motion detectors have sent their OFF commands, this software sees the snow in the output of the video receiver and stops recording. As soon as video is present again, it restarts its recording.

I am currently writing a program to communicate with the CM19A interface to allow people to control the switching/pan/tilt of their cameras (and anything else in the house that is X10 based) via text message to a dedicated email address on a standard POP3 mail server. So if you think the fact that this program doesn't have built in X10 control will cripple your abilities, all I can say is "NOT FOR LONG".
Logged

jwd0695

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2011, 03:51:36 PM »

guitard00d, it appears that this is not your 1st barbcue.  Sounds like you are the go to guy on software.  I just purchase the wireless camera package.

 I would like to know if I can use you for my to go guy, when I receive my system.  I will not load there software for sure, after reading you post.

Keep up the good post's
Logged

guitard00d

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2011, 11:00:18 AM »

Thought for a minute there you were saying I was barbeque'ing Vanguard. No, just calling a spade a spade, Vanguard is broken and X10 dropped the ball on its development a long time ago. Sadly, it looks like they used the same broken source code to create their iWatchOut plugin for ActiveHome. I'm just basing that opinion on the posts I read in the iWatchOut forum here. I think your best bet is to simply buy a multi-camera package and tell X10 to give you a discount for not bundling their software or their video capture device (since the driver for the video capture interface is only available via Vanguard install).

So here's my suggested setup...Get any camera package deal with motion detectors and a TM751 tranceiver, but remember that the color cameras only work well under ideal lighting conditions. Tell them to keep their software, video capture interface, and CM19A video transceiver and give you a discount. Use the motion detectors to do your camera switching. When you set them up, set them to send their OFF command after 4 hours (256 minutes, or 9 flashes on that part of the programming). Then get anybody else's video capture interface and the Argus Surveillance software from http://www.argussurveillance.com and use its built in motion detection to filter out garbage so you don't get pictures of an empty room. I have mine set to 90% sensitivity, and the motion must be between 10% and 75% for it to send me an alert. Less than 10%, that's a picture of the dog or cat, I don't need to see that. more than 75%, that's snow in the picture from the cameras being shut off by the motion detectors after 4 hours of inactivity, I don't need to see that either. That's pretty much it, you have a reliable and dependable system after that.

If you want to be able to control the switching or positioning of your cameras and ninja bases, get the CM19A and I'll make my software available as soon as I'm positive that it's ready.
Logged

ROBERTH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 32
Re: vangaurd recording question
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2011, 03:11:07 PM »

Hello group...I am currently researching what camera package to get. I have used other cameras for home security in the past but the X10 wireless camera packages look pretty good. I see that the Vanguard software has issues. What camera package, software and hardware have you all had success with? I was thinking of the 4 black and white cameras and 3 flood light motion cameras. I already have 3 flood lights so it would be easy to replace those with the X10 models.

Rob
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.