Contact | X10.com
July 23, 2014, 11:57:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Homeseer ! OR Activehome !  (Read 12436 times)
alhakeem2001
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 1


« on: July 14, 2010, 04:49:17 AM »

I'm thinking to move from Homeseer to Activehome as Homeseer doesn't support downloading Macros to my CM11 ! because I want to control my house from the internet without having my computer on all the Time, would that be possible with Activehome ?
Logged
hawk1
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 21
Posts: 625



« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2010, 05:38:47 AM »

If you didn't have a computer how would the cm11 interface with the internet?  I wouldn't think this would be possible without a computer or some other type of equipment.  I could be wrong though.  Good Luck!
Logged

koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!
nybuck
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 17
Posts: 405



« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 12:54:40 PM »

If you didn't have a computer how would the cm11 interface with the internet?  I wouldn't think this would be possible without a computer or some other type of equipment.  I could be wrong though.  Good Luck!
laugh
Yeah, I'd say to connect to ActiveHome from the internet, the computer would probably have to be on...
Logged

Cheers
dbemowsk
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 21
Posts: 428



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 03:54:02 PM »

I run ActiveHome Pro with my RemoteWatch X10 software and I have to keep my HA computer on 24/7.  If I shut down my HA computer, my CM15A would keep most things running, but I wouldn't have web based control.  There are companies that make web based controllers that don't need a computer running 24/7, but I don't know of any that support X10 protocol.
Logged

Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.
Brian H
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 256
Posts: 11086


« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2010, 02:29:56 AM »

The CM11A uses the older Active Home software and it doesn't even like to run on some XP systems with out loosing the serial communications to the interface. Yes it is serial not USB.
I have no idea if Vista or Windows7 would even run Active Home. Even in compatibility mode.
Logged
dave w
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 124
Posts: 5244


« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2010, 09:33:35 AM »

alhakeem2001
If you want to control home automation from the internet, a 24/7 computer is necessary. Besides, after using Homeseer, I think you will be disapointed with Active Home Pro. The "drag and drop" macro development is nice, but the softwre is buggy, quirky, and illogical compared to Homeseer. IMHO.
Logged

"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Brian H
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 256
Posts: 11086


« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2010, 09:37:35 AM »

If he wants to go with AHP his CM11A also has to go.
Logged
dave w
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 124
Posts: 5244


« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2010, 09:52:05 AM »

If he wants to go with AHP his CM11A also has to go.
You are right! I guess  alhakeem2001 desires of getting away from a 24/7 computer was still on my brain.
Logged

"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Brian H
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 256
Posts: 11086


« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2010, 10:01:04 AM »

I think 24/7 computer and Internet access go together.
Though Smarthome does make an Insteon Network Device and Universal Devices ISY99i run standalone and can be accessed by the Internet.
Not close to the X10 prices though.  whistle
Logged
dbemowsk
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 21
Posts: 428



WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2010, 03:09:15 PM »

If they had a DECENT working CM15A driver for linux, I could almost see trying some linux HA software on a SheevaPlug computer.  You could have 24/7 web based HA control on a wall wart.
Logged

Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.
Charles Sullivan
Advanced Member
Hero Member
******

Helpful Post Rating: 93
Posts: 1570


WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2010, 12:53:34 AM »

If they had a DECENT working CM15A driver for linux, I could almost see trying some linux HA software on a SheevaPlug computer.  You could have 24/7 web based HA control on a wall wart.

There are a number of users who have Heyu installed on SheevaPlug, and even on devices like a NSLU2 file server after installing a Linux OS.
Logged

Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | X10 Mini Timer
© Copyright 2013 X10.com All rights reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!