Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271  (Read 17800 times)

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« on: July 31, 2010, 10:55:42 AM »

I am new to this forum and to AHP.
I have been using X10 products for 20 years.
I used to use the old software with Firecracker but I switched to AHP last week because sometimes the old software would crash.
I use X10 basically for 2 things...to control my livingroom lights and to control 8 outdoor spotlights.
The livingroom lights are on one wall switch set to E2.
The spotlights are controlled by 2 wall switches (4 spotlights each) set to E1.
I have a TM751 transceiver controlled by a PalmPad HR12A.
I replaced the CM17A serial interface module with the CM15A USB module.
I have 2 basic problems with AHP.

1. Sometimes I can turn on the livingroom lights with AHP and sometimes I can't.
2. I have also set up two test timers for each of the two items listed above and neither of them work at all.

I had to set up the spotlights as an Appliance Module to get them to work. I have the livingroom lights set up as a Wallswitch Module.
AHP is seeing the commands I enter into the PalmPad.

So, right now I am not impressed with AHP.
Any idea what is going on here?
Much appreciated.
Doug

« Last Edit: July 31, 2010, 11:10:30 AM by gdmaclew »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2010, 01:05:23 PM »

Since this is an older installation.
Are the wall switches old enough to be before Soft Start?
Where they ramp on and off. Also have a preset dim.
Reason I asked is the soft start have to be handled differently in AHP then the older type.

It is possible you have a power line signal problem. The CM17A sent an RF command to the TM751 and it passed the signal on to the E2 switches. Now the CM15As position in the system maybe on a different branch circuit or the other phase of the homes wiring.
Here is a good set of troubleshooting tutorials.
http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
http://www.act-solutions.com/PCC/uncle.htm

For #2 We have seen reports of timer problems with 3.271 and 3.236. Many have back tracked to 3.228 and had better results.
There are threads here on how to do it.
Basically from here:
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/applications/activehome/
Download ahp_updt_204.exe and run it.
Then run the check updates from the AHP that was installed and it will find 3.228.
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2010, 01:06:03 PM »

After reading some of the posts here, I discovered that the "ON" command doesn't activate on timers at the exact "minute" requested. I waited and the timer activated at 30-45 seconds after the minute...so the timer does work.

Still have the problem indicated under number 1.

Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2010, 01:10:48 PM »

Since this is an older installation.
Are the wall switches old enough to be before Soft Start?
Where they ramp on and off. Also have a preset dim.
Reason I asked is the soft start have to be handled differently in AHP then the older type.

It is possible you have a power line signal problem. The CM17A sent an RF command to the TM751 and it passed the signal on to the E2 switches. Now the CM15As position in the system maybe on a different branch circuit or the other phase of the homes wiring.
Here is a good set of troubleshooting tutorials.
http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
http://www.act-solutions.com/PCC/uncle.htm

For #2 We have seen reports of timer problems with 3.271 and 3.236. Many have back tracked to 3.228 and had better results.
There are threads here on how to do it.
Basically from here:
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/applications/activehome/
Download ahp_updt_204.exe and run it.
Then run the check updates from the AHP that was installed and it will find 3.228.

Thanks Brian.
First see my reply to my post which I posted before you posted. LOL.
Second, yes, the wall switch is pre 2007.
I'll check the branch that the CM15A and wall switch are on and post an update.
Thanks.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2010, 01:14:16 PM »

Yes I have seen posts go that way.
Sometimes you get a red warning that another post was processed while you where inputting yours sometimes there is no red warning.  ;D
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2010, 01:18:10 PM »

Yes I have seen posts go that way.
Sometimes you get a red warning that another post was processed while you where inputting yours sometimes there is no red warning.  ;D

I got the "red warning" but posted anyway.
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2010, 07:13:47 PM »

I did some investigation and the CM15A is indeed on a different phase from the wall switch I am trying to control (opposite sides of the panel).
I guess I'll have to modify the panel.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5969
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2010, 08:08:54 PM »

I did some investigation and the CM15A is indeed on a different phase from the wall switch I am trying to control (opposite sides of the panel).
I guess I'll have to modify the panel.

FWIW
Depending upon panel design "opposite side of panel" may not be the opposite phase. I have both phases on both sides of my panel (Square D). Each row of breakers is different phase. 
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2010, 08:14:51 PM »

I did some investigation and the CM15A is indeed on a different phase from the wall switch I am trying to control (opposite sides of the panel).
I guess I'll have to modify the panel.


No, you need some form of a phase coupler.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2010, 07:59:34 AM »

I did some investigation and the CM15A is indeed on a different phase from the wall switch I am trying to control (opposite sides of the panel).
I guess I'll have to modify the panel.


No, you need some form of a phase coupler.

Sorry, that's what I meant. Since I installed my own panel 25 years ago, maybe I could install a phase coupler myself. How difficult would it be?
I'll check the forum for posts related to this topic and maybe I'll find the answer.

I wish I could just plug the CM15A into a different outlet but the only one close enough to the PC is the branch on which the wall switch is and that controls two outlets for my livingroom lights. So the problem is that the outlet is either switched off, is dimmed or is fully on. I don't think the CM15A will work if the outlet is either off or dimmed...correct me if I'm wrong.

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2010, 09:50:49 AM »

You have a dimmer controlling an outlet?
If you do it is a safety hazard and probably against the electrical code.
Logged

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2010, 10:04:50 AM »

You have a dimmer controlling an outlet?
If you do it is a safety hazard and probably against the electrical code.

Yes the wall switch detailed previously is controlling two livingroom outlets for the two lights there.
It is not against the Ontario Electrical Code.

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2010, 10:08:50 AM »

OK.

You are correct on the CM15A. Using that circuit. The CM15A would not work correctly.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5969
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2010, 10:38:57 AM »

Sorry, that's what I meant. Since I installed my own panel 25 years ago, maybe I could install a phase coupler myself. How difficult would it be?
It's not difficult. If you installed your own panel, you can install a "repeater" (I would not mess with a passive phase coupler, a good repeater, amplifying the X10 signal on both phases solves most noise, coupling, and signal sucking, problems. Well worth the cost). All you need is an unused breaker on each phase. The repeater connects to each phase and neutral.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

gdmaclew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 32
Re: Inconsistant results with AHP 3.271
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2010, 03:26:02 PM »

Sorry, that's what I meant. Since I installed my own panel 25 years ago, maybe I could install a phase coupler myself. How difficult would it be?
It's not difficult. If you installed your own panel, you can install a "repeater" (I would not mess with a passive phase coupler, a good repeater, amplifying the X10 signal on both phases solves most noise, coupling, and signal sucking, problems. Well worth the cost). All you need is an unused breaker on each phase. The repeater connects to each phase and neutral.

Thanks. Where do I get them?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.