Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11

Author Topic: New Nstinct Remote  (Read 148801 times)

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2010, 02:57:50 PM »


Other than button positions, and the sleeker appearance, I wonder what the differences are.

Jeff

Several new "private label" LCD TV manufacturers have appeared since the original ICON came out, so probably new code libraries. It may be nothing more than a repackaging. Apparently X10 has decided not to add a computer interface which is disappointing. It takes me days to set up all my X10 modules in the old ICON. Would be much easier if you could do it on a PC and download. Sigh, I am bummed
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 12:58:39 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2010, 03:54:28 PM »

The computer interface would have been nice. Since they bill it as a Harmony Killer.  :'
The only one I ever saw was a Beta Original Icon Remote. Had a mini USB connector.

One thing I did notice.
One of the sales items on the original X10 sales page. Is an original Icon for $69.99  ::)
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 12:58:52 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged

nybuck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 17
  • Posts: 405
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2010, 09:11:08 PM »

Apparently X10 has decided not to add a computer interface which is disappointing. It takes me days to set up all my X10 modules in the old ICON. Would be much easier if you could do it on a PC and download. Sigh, I am bummed
That can't be!  It clearly says in the advertisement "set it up in less than 3 minutes"   :'

I would have liked to see the USB port as well.....   ;)
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 12:59:09 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
>!

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2010, 12:43:26 AM »

Just got my shipping confirmation!   :)%

Nstinct Remote IR34A

Ship date August 3rd.
Estimated delivery date August 12th.

Can't wait to play!

 >!
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 12:59:22 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #19 on: August 04, 2010, 06:54:40 AM »

Mine said shipped 08/02/10. FedEx expected delivery 08/07/10.
With SmartPost I have found times vary.
Logged

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2010, 07:21:47 PM »


Other than button positions, and the sleeker appearance, I wonder what the differences are.

Jeff

Several new "private label" LCD TV manufacturers have appeared since the original ICON came out, so probably new code libraries. It may be nothing more than a repackaging. Apparently X10 has decided not to add a computer interface which is disappointing. It takes me days to set up all my X10 modules in the old ICON. Would be much easier if you could do it on a PC and download. Sigh, I am bummed


Say how difficult is it to program and whats  required to set up your x10 modules. It does say 3 minutes  ???

Tom j.       
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2010, 07:24:51 PM »

Say how difficult is it to program and whats  required to set up your x10 modules. It does say 3 minutes  ???      

 rofl

Oh gosh, it's another Depends day! 
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2010, 07:26:13 PM »

Until someone has one in their hands It maybe difficult to say with any concrete findings.

If there where any Beta Testers they are keeping real quiet.

I checked again and there is no Manual for the new IR34A on line yet.
Logged

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #23 on: August 05, 2010, 01:34:03 AM »

Until someone has one in their hands It maybe difficult to say with any concrete findings.

If there where any Beta Testers they are keeping real quiet.

I checked again and there is no Manual for the new IR34A on line yet.

Hi Brian, do you have the old version?

Tom j.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #24 on: August 05, 2010, 06:12:20 AM »

I have two IR10 Original Icons and one of them is a Beta revision with the mini USB connector.
I don't have a IR32 original Icon RF.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #25 on: August 05, 2010, 01:55:50 PM »

The IR34A users manual and quick start guide are now on the X10 FTP site.
I have downloaded them and will be looking them over shortly.

Top two entries on this page:
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/

The links to the manuals are not yet in the what's included box of the sales site or the customer service list of manuals for download.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2010, 02:11:11 PM by Brian H »
Logged

J.B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 319
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #26 on: August 05, 2010, 04:52:31 PM »

I spoke with customer service today and they said that other than button placement and the few changes visually, it is almost no different than an IR32A.

Here is a direct link to the manual:

ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/IR34A%20OM.pdf
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #27 on: August 06, 2010, 03:33:03 PM »

I am pleased to say. FedEx overestimated the delivery date.
Mine arrived this afternoon by Smartpost.  :)%

Real short play time so far.
I think the three minutes setup maybe a stretch.
Using the start up wizard and knowing all the answers. You maybe able to setup one device in three minutes.
If you don't count the time to find batteries in your spare battery drawer and install them.  ;D
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 08:11:46 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #28 on: August 06, 2010, 04:18:05 PM »

The IR34A is also now in the FCC Database.
Internal and External Photos
Schematics, Parts List and more.

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/GenericSearch.cfm
Grantee Code: B4S
Product Code: IR34A
In the details tab.

From looking at the Schematics for the IR34A Nstinct Remote and the IR32A IconRF Remote. The first thing that popped out was the RF Transmitters. The IR32A used discrete components in the oscillator and the IR34A used SAW devices for a closer frequency tolerance.

The second thing I saw was a USB Port on the main schematic. I think it maybe only on the PCB as I can't see one externally. A closer look at the internal photos shows the mounting pads for the USB Port not populated.  :(
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 05:00:39 PM by Brian H »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: New Nstinct Remote
« Reply #29 on: August 07, 2010, 10:44:58 AM »

The second thing I saw was a USB Port on the main schematic. I think it maybe only on the PCB as I can't see one externally. A closer look at the internal photos shows the mounting pads for the USB Port not populated.  :(

 B:(
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.