Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC  (Read 16142 times)

Cybirian

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« on: August 16, 2010, 01:03:11 PM »

Hi All,

I got a new laptop and want to use my X10 stuff, now is this still with RS-232 port.
I use standard softwarewith a hardware USB to RE-232 converter.
Hardware is reconginized and i'm sure that COM3 is not in use for anything else.
Is there an option to get my CM11 to talk to my laptop an vice-versa i do i need a newer control unit with USB?

Thnx,
C.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 05:13:38 PM »

Hi All,

I got a new laptop and want to use my X10 stuff, now is this still with RS-232 port.
I use standard softwarewith a hardware USB to RE-232 converter.
Hardware is reconginized and i'm sure that COM3 is not in use for anything else.
Is there an option to get my CM11 to talk to my laptop an vice-versa i do i need a newer control unit with USB?

Thnx,
C.

The converter you have should work.  Check it's documentation to see what COM ports it has.   Install the software and see if recognizes the CM11A.   Active Home is so old,  the software may not run under 7, you may have to use the XP emulator to run it.     
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 07:05:28 PM »

Also, not all USB to RS-232 dongles are created equal.

I have read a few posts on this forum stating that some don't support all the signal lines like they should and will prevent communication with the CM11A, no matter what OS you're running.
 >!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 07:22:21 PM »

Could be.
The serial cable has RD {Receive Data};TD {Transmit Data};Signal Common and RI {Ring Indicate}.
Logged

pconroy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 294
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2010, 01:16:24 PM »

Hi All,

I got a new laptop and want to use my X10 stuff, now is this still with RS-232 port.
I use standard softwarewith a hardware USB to RE-232 converter.
Hardware is reconginized and i'm sure that COM3 is not in use for anything else.
Is there an option to get my CM11 to talk to my laptop an vice-versa i do i need a newer control unit with USB?

Thnx,
C.

another thing to try might be another X10 product.
Like EasyX10.

If it's able to see the CM11A, then you know there's nothing wrong at the hardware level and you can work from there.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2010, 02:11:58 PM »

As long as EasyX10 uses the RI signal that the CM11A outputs and AH seems to need. Then it maybe a fair test of the hardware.
Logged

pconroy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 294
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2010, 06:37:56 PM »

Good point.

In the end my experience has been:
- the prolific PL2303 chip seems to be prevalent in the low cost USB-Serial converters
- there are a few versions of that chip
- one (version) didn't work for me, under Linux, one did
- all of them worked fine for me under XP

I don't have '7' to try.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2010, 08:00:46 PM »

I looked at EZX10's site and according to it, support is only through XP so Cybirian is still stuck with XP mode in 7 or replacing the CM11A with AHP and the CM15A. 
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

jimpster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2010, 02:56:20 PM »

I've had mixed success with CM11 with windows 7

1. Worked on a fresh install of 64bit, real com port
2. Works on a 32bit Virtual machine on windows 7 64 bit host thru USB/Com (different computer than above).
3. Doesn't quite work on the win 7 64 host via usb/com above.

Now I'm using a CM19a
 
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: CM11 wan't talk with Windows 7 PC
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2010, 08:16:20 PM »

The CM19A is not like either the CM11A or the CM15A.  It needs a transceiver to put signals on the power line.  So, you are stuck with the CM11A or convert to AHP and the CM15A.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.