Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: VK74A Camera kit - Quality video?  (Read 5278 times)

travelerjack

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
VK74A Camera kit - Quality video?
« on: October 13, 2010, 11:39:10 AM »

I'm new to the X10 family, and am entirely intrigued by the possibilities of ALL the hardware and software. I purchased the VK74A Pan 'n Tilt Camera system with color camera. It took me a few days of fidgeting with it to get the video to come in on my TV (50" HD Projection with normally great picture quality), and when I did get it to come in, the quality was horrible. I have the camera and video receiver about 6 feet from one another, and the picture is so grainy I wouldn't be able to recognize my wife at 8 feet from the camera if I didn't know t was her. Is this the best I am going to get?
I've also got a video sender kit in the same room (on a different channel) that sends from my cable box to my bedroom TV, and it works fabulously. I've yet to conquer the remote control ability to use in the bedroom to control the cable box, but I haven't spent a lot of time on it yet. I was wondering if the two pieces of hardware could be the cause of the camera quality, truthfully please.
There is also a wireless 2.4ghz phone in the room. I bring this all up because I spoke to telephone support (was chatting with them on-line, then they called me, and when I answered I was immediately on hold for 30 minutes before a human got on the phone with me, I explained my picture quality issue, she said it was because of the phone being in the same room, then she said "I have a lot of other calls on hold, so please try different channels and call us back." This after being on hold myself for 30 minutes and getting about 30 seconds of support myself. Needless to say, I figured the rest of that issue out myself and am very unhappy with the 'support', if you can call it that.