Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.  (Read 8677 times)

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6034
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2010, 12:50:13 PM »

Well i guess I could just have the remote do it. It was sort of a program I was thinking of when I was away from the house.
Like maybe turn on and off a few different lights and maybe the tv for a hour or two. then say around 9 oclock turn everything off, not including cameras running.
Ah-ha, yes if you want to turn on TV to make house appeared occupied, then you will need a AHP to IR gizmo, which may not exist since Smarthome no longer makes the "X10 to IR Linc" (which may not have filled the requirement anyway).
 
BTW there are gizmos that project a light pattern mimicing a TV being on. If you used that you could control it with an Appliance Module via AHP.
http://www.smarthome.com/9480/FakeTV-Burglar-Deterrent/p.aspx
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Outlander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 01:50:13 PM by Outlander »
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2010, 02:17:04 PM »

That's NOT what you want.   Better to get the CM15A and AHP.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Outlander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2010, 02:50:02 PM »

From what I read about the device I can program it to turn off/on the tv using AHP along with the cm15a to  operate it. But I could be wrong. Ill have to investagate more, of course there is another one
http://www.smarthome.com/2411T/IRLinc-INSTEON-IR-Transmitter/p.aspx But I will continue looking for devices. But the smarthome one looks to be one to just turn on power not the tv directly.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6034
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2010, 03:04:32 PM »

Well I found this "NEW! X10 Home Automation-16 IR Device Controller(110V)"
Looks intersting and might do the trick.
Outlander I believe you are correct. If I am reading this description right, you can use AHP and CM15A macro to send a PLC code to this unit and it will then send a "learned" IR code to your TV.

"By jove...I believe you have it!"     :)%

Dan, did you read the description?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 03:06:52 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Outlander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2010, 03:30:00 PM »

Thanks for the help, guys.

Im glad someone out there was playing with IR and developed something for this. I will get one and post my findings, I also contacted the dealer so maybe i can some more info. I downloaded the manual and I think it will do what i need.

 >!
Logged

Outlander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2010, 10:26:46 AM »

Ok now that I have the TV problem solved and thanks again for the help.

Can I try for best solution for central heat/AC controller? Iím not too keen on the device that generates heat  rofl under the thermostat to get it to come on. That just seems to be a weird way to operate it.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6034
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #22 on: November 20, 2010, 11:06:03 AM »

Can I try for best solution for central heat/AC controller?
There are a couple of thermostats that will change temperature based on received X10 codes, i.e.:
http://www.smarthome.com/3045B/X10-Bi-Directional-HVAC-System-RCS-TXB-16/p.aspx

Also a decade ago I published a DIY article in the now defunct "Popular Home Automation" rag about using two cheap thermostats, one for regular temp and one for setback temp and using three appliance modules controlling 120V coil relays to control HVAC system power, fan operation, and select regular or setback thermostats. Kind of a Rube Golberg contraption. If interested, PM me and I can email the pdf.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Outlander

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2010, 02:06:02 PM »

Ok I have a silly question?
seeing how Iím going to be using a CM15a, do I need all the little Transceivers that come with the devices, isnít that what the CM15a is doing?
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6034
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #24 on: November 20, 2010, 03:11:17 PM »

Ok I have a silly question?
seeing how Iím going to be using a CM15a, do I need all the little Transceivers that come with the devices, isnít that what the CM15a is doing?
If you are referring to the TM751,  yes, the CM15A is also a RF to PLC transceiver. It can transceive all 16 house codes where the TM751 can only transceive one. Generally the TM751 should not be used if you are using the CM15A. The TM751 is "impolite", meaning if it receives a X10 RF signal, it will blindly couple the signal to the homes wiring. If the CM15A happens to also be transmitting PLC the TM751 will clobber it and corrupt the signal.  The TM751 does seem to be a little sensitive as far as picking up RF so some users do use both CM15A and TM751, placing the TM751 in an area where the CM15A normally will not pick-up a remotes RF signal.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2010, 03:35:18 PM »

That's why I recommend the RR501 transceiver as it has both a Housecode wheel and a slide switch for Units 1 or 9.  It's also "polite" and will wait until the line is clear before sending a signal.   You can get the RR501 from Automated Outlet  http://www.automatedoutlet.com/ by itself, X10 only sells it with other items.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 270
  • Posts: 9865
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #26 on: November 20, 2010, 05:33:45 PM »

X10 only sells it with other items.
Not so Dan!
http://www.activehomepro.com/accessories/pro/pat01_wa1_s.html
A little digging will find Products listed on their own! ;)
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12752
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #27 on: November 20, 2010, 06:03:08 PM »

Too bad many will not find it. As X10 buried it in the AHP accessories area and not the open sales sites.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 270
  • Posts: 9865
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #28 on: November 20, 2010, 07:32:55 PM »

Too bad many will not find it. As X10 buried it in the AHP accessories area and not the open sales sites.
So true, but anyone willing to do a good search would find it!
It took me less then 2 mins.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Thinking of taking the dive in to AHP.
« Reply #29 on: November 20, 2010, 10:45:02 PM »

The PAT01 is $33.99 (plus shipping) from X10 and the RR501 from Automated Outlet is $9.67 plus shipping of $8.95 (regardless of the order size) what's the better value for the money? 
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.