Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: X10 & Xmas  (Read 13342 times)

orcusomega

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 97
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2010, 10:22:57 AM »

Hey gang...

I have been looking for something like this, but could not find anyplace good to pick them up online.  Turns out they are part of a kit by Black nd Decker as well, part number FW3000.  Again, hard to find, but here is a link to eBay (not mine) where I just ordered a set - http://cgi.ebay.com/Black-Decker-5-piece-Wireless-Lighting-Kit-FW3000-/310269005778?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item483d794fd2

Hope this helps!

Bob
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7043
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2010, 11:24:42 AM »

.... they are part of a kit by Black nd Decker as well, part number FW3000.  Again, hard to find, but here is a link to eBay (not mine) where I just ordered a set - http://cgi.ebay.com/Black-Decker-5-piece-Wireless-Lighting-Kit-FW3000-/310269005778?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item483d794fd2

Same kit I picked up at Smarthomes clearence maybe 3-4 years ago.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

orcusomega

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 97
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2010, 12:45:29 PM »

Nice :)  There is someone on eBay trying to sell the FW3000 for $150 or $160 BIN LOL.... Good luck with that :)  If they were worth that much, I am sure B&D would still be making them!

Bob
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2010, 12:47:56 PM »

I believe when Smarthome was clearance selling the FW3000 Kit I paid maybe $19.99.
My local Ocean State Job Jot had the individual modules maybe a year ago at $5.00 each.
Logged

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2010, 03:52:17 PM »

I'm still working on Xmas light inside i didn't like how i had it setup before. Had go and get more Ext cords i have one outlets in the room where the tree and other stuff is at. The modules that i have outside are working great so far its 11 outside with about 4 inch's of snow.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7043
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2010, 05:54:43 PM »

I put my outside lights on an X10 timer today. I don't know why I haven't done this before. I used both of my Black & Decker outdoor modules as well as an appliance module. 
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2010, 09:24:08 AM »

 B:( B:( B:( B:( B:( B:( B:(

I just had to unplug everything inside last night x10 stop working . I have only one outlet in the room. I have TM751 &  4 lamp mod plug in. The PC running AHP & x10 commander is about 20 feet away Cm15a and cm19a are plug in and PC that is on 24/7. One thing i haven't tried was putting cm15a in the same room. I'm thinking about plug in all Xmas light in power strip and then in to AM466 or any  -:) 
Logged

troll334

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 159
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #22 on: December 08, 2010, 09:33:26 AM »

I'm certain this has been stated a thousand times already...but...
Make sure the powerstrip you plan to use is NOT filtered, surge protected, etc.
The added electronics clamp down on spikes in those types of strips and will have an effect on X10 signals.
Logged
AHP 3.236. CM15A. XTB-IIR. XTBM. Hauppauge 950Q.

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #23 on: December 08, 2010, 09:58:39 AM »

Everything is working again i just move TM751 that plugin into ex cord that plugin to the outlet. The other bottom of the outlet is where most of the mod are plugin into 3 way outlet thats made for outside look like a +.

Its suck there is only one outlet in the room. This house is over 100 years old. there never an outlet where you need them to be  :)


Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2010, 01:58:12 PM »

Everything is working again i just move TM751 that plugin into ex cord that plugin to the outlet. The other bottom of the outlet is where most of the mod are plugin into 3 way outlet thats made for outside look like a +.

Its suck there is only one outlet in the room. This house is over 100 years old. there never an outlet where you need them to be  :)


Not X10, but it seems you need to find a good electrician and totally rewire your 100 year old house and bring it into the 21st Century.  My house was built in 1928 and it has 2 and 3 outlets in every room. We got it from my parents and it was rewired to 1960's standards.  I added several new outlets in the early 1980's.  When X10 arrived in the middle 80's and the phase problem showed up, my friendly local X10 dealer was happy to sell me the proper capacitor to go in my 220 volt stove outlet.  The capacitor is screwed across the outlet's feed contacts (NOTE: DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS WITH THE POWER ON) and passes the X10 signals to both phases and the stove doesn't know its there.   
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7043
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2010, 06:00:08 PM »

.... This house is over 100 years old. there never an outlet where you need them to be

It is hard to beat the charm and homey feel of an older home. For my money I also prefer a home with a little history. One of the prime uses for X10 is to put switches where you need them [quick, cheap and without calling in an electrician]. But old underwired systems can also be dangerous. Not because of X10... just because of the old overloaded wiring. Be careful.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #26 on: December 08, 2010, 07:07:41 PM »

.... This house is over 100 years old. there never an outlet where you need them to be

It is hard to beat the charm and homey feel of an older home. For my money I also prefer a home with a little history. One of the prime uses for X10 is to put switches where you need them [quick, cheap and without calling in an electrician]. But old underwired systems can also be dangerous. Not because of X10... just because of the old overloaded wiring. Be careful.

I feel the same way. I call the new home high class trailer park ever other one is the same . I made sure outside light are not on the same breaker. I say maybe more than half of the wiring has been updated the upstairs was on fuses.  This house was heated by coal lol now it's oil. When it goes going with gas but have to update all the duck work.
Logged

peg-leg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 111
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #27 on: December 08, 2010, 11:53:48 PM »

I'm running all of my outdoor lights using 15 amp wall mounted plugs set on timers to come on at 5 pm and go off at 10 pm on weekdays.  The time is extended a little on weekends.  For my Christmas tree and various garlin lights inside, I'm using lamp modules.  Timers turn them on for an hour each morning while my little one is up getting ready for school.  Timers turn the lights on again just before the family arrives home and go off at 10 each night.  I've got different schedules for Saturday and Sunday.   

AHP runs it all and I can manually control with X10 Commander on my Iphone.  I love this set up!  No plugging and unplugging lights all day long.

I set up X10 commander to be accessible over the web so I can also turn on and off any my lights from anywhere I have  a 3g signal.

Logged

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #28 on: December 23, 2010, 09:18:42 PM »

I just order from amzion Black & Decker FWLROD Freewire Outdoor Lamp Receiver For $25
Logged

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: X10 & Xmas
« Reply #29 on: November 13, 2011, 01:17:38 PM »

Getting it all setup again. Just got all the Xmas light put up outside beating the cold weather coming. We had our first snow this week was really lite. One time i put them up in -20 i told myself never again.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.