Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!  (Read 8616 times)

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« on: December 22, 2010, 10:29:28 PM »

I have all the video record quality options maxed out and still get very pixelised recordings. I'm using Vista and Sentinel cameras with all the latest AHP plugins. Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 10:41:27 PM by Frank3d »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2010, 11:36:03 PM »

....get very pixelised recordings. I'm using Vista and Sentinel cameras

Wired... wireless?
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2010, 11:46:35 AM »

....get very pixelised recordings. I'm using Vista and Sentinel cameras

Wired... wireless?

Dave,
Im using wireless mode for all cameras and the live pictures on AHP are perfect from all cameras. I'm using a macro to start and stop the recording but man the poor quality of the recorded videos are unacceptable.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2010, 03:00:52 PM »

I have all the video record quality options maxed out and still get very pixelised recordings.
Im using wireless mode for all cameras and the live pictures on AHP are perfect from all cameras.

So you have excellent input and I am guessing.... the VA12A not the older lower video quality VA11A... Video Adapter. So have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video?
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 05:11:33 PM »

I have all the video record quality options maxed out and still get very pixelised recordings.
I'm using wireless mode for all cameras and the live pictures on AHP are perfect from all cameras.

So you have excellent input and I am guessing.... the VA12A not the older lower video quality VA11A... Video Adapter. So have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video?

Dave,
Yes excellent input with a VA12A. I have maxed out all of the video quality settings in AHP record settings but still recorded videos are very pixelized. I know I'm doing something wrong but not sure what. III
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2010, 07:47:18 PM »

Have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video? How many gigs of memory have you given to video recording? What percentage of the hard drive?
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2010, 12:48:58 PM »

Have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video? How many gigs of memory have you given to video recording? What percentage of the hard drive?

Not sure what settings you are referring to. See my present settings in AHP.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2010, 03:18:35 PM by Frank3d »
Logged

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2010, 12:50:37 PM »

Have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video? How many gigs of memory have you given to video recording? What percentage of the hard drive?

Dave, And here.
Logged

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2010, 03:10:20 PM »

Have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video? How many gigs of memory have you given to video recording? What percentage of the hard drive?

Dave,
Shown is one frame of the poor resolution AHP recorded video I'm referring to. There has got to be something set incorrectly on my AHP otherwise more people would be complaining about this kind of poor recorded AHP video.       B:(      B:(   
Once again thanks for all your and others input.
Logged

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2010, 03:12:37 PM »

Have you allocated enough memory for the higher quality video? How many gigs of memory have you given to video recording? What percentage of the hard drive?

Dave, Buy the way Snap Shots are excellent resolution.
Logged

ITguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 105
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2010, 08:11:59 PM »

Frank3D,

Have you tried changing the "compression" settings to "NONE" or "Full Frames"?  The file sizes will be huge, but that will tell you if it's a compression issue.  If that is the problem, you can keep trying different codecs until you find one that gives you acceptable quality.

ITguy 
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 272
  • Posts: 10111
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2010, 09:02:34 PM »

I'm with ITguy on this!
The wrong Codec can make a big difference. ;)
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2010, 09:14:58 PM »

Dave, And here.

See where is says 20MB.... maybe you could allocate a little more memory for video.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2010, 09:20:12 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2010, 09:19:44 PM »

Not sure what settings you are referring to. See my present settings in AHP.

See where is says "Video file sizing" and NO radio buttons have been filled... Maybe if you put a dot in the CD (560MB) or the DVD (4.7 GB). And like ITguy and Tuicemen say... choose a Codec.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2010, 10:24:29 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Frank3d

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 120
Re: Poor Recorded Video Quality with AHP. Need suggestions!
« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2010, 10:42:51 PM »

Not sure what settings you are referring to. See my present settings in AHP.

See where is says "Video file sizing" and NO radio buttons have been filled... Maybe if you put a dot in the CD (560MB) or the DVD (4.7 GB). And like ITguy and Tuicemen say... choose a Codec.

Thanks Dave.
Ill try some of the other codecs. Already tried the file sizing selections but every time I come back to this screen no buttons are selected, even after saving under File.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.