Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?  (Read 7807 times)

purple lizzard

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« on: March 17, 2011, 06:17:23 PM »

Hi,

I am a newbie here although not new to X10.  I have had a small setup running for about 5 years.

I want to control X10 modules with my Sears garage door remote control. 
I want to use the remote control I already have that operates my Sears garage door opener. I would like for the other buttons, the ones not used for the garage door, to activate X10 modules in my home.
Is this possible and if so what equipment, is required?

Thanks
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 06:27:48 PM »

I doubt it uses the same RF frequency or encoding to do X10.
Do you know if it was sold with optional X10 support?
Can you provide the model of the remote? On the off chance we can find data on it.
Logged

purple lizzard

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2011, 09:25:48 PM »

The Sears part number is Craftsman 139.53753

I remenber reading at some point in time that the Sears garage door open system could also control lights in your house.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2011, 10:27:51 AM »

The Sears part number is Craftsman 139.53753

I remenber reading at some point in time that the Sears garage door open system could also control lights in your house.
Maybe this will work with your Liftmaster remote. http://www.liftmaster.com/consumerweb/pages/accessoriesmodeldetail.aspx?modelId=839

One model is on your remotes frequency (315mHz).

You could interface to X10 with a 120V AC relay http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/RLY-2120/120-VAC-DPDT-10-AMP-RELAY//1.html and a X10 PowerFlash.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

purple lizzard

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2011, 11:06:45 PM »

Ok,  I think we are getting close.

Let me see if I understand.
1. Pressing a button on my garage door remote will trigger the Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control
2. The Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control will provide current to the DPDT 10 AMP RELAY
3. The DPDT 10 AMP RELAY will provide a closed contact for the X10 Powerflash.
4. The X10 Powerflash will then send the corrent X10 signal to the X10 wall switch that I wish to turn on.
5. The X10 wall switch closes it contacts and turn on the lights.

If this is correct so good so far.
However, I have some questions regard the operation.
After the Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control provides current to the DPDT 10 AMP RELAY how will it stop/reset itself?
I can control the X10 switch manually or via a program command but what about the the Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control how does it get set for the next use?
I guess this would apply to any use of the Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control.   Any ideas?

Thanks
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2011, 06:24:33 AM »

The light control turns on the relay and it has the Powerflash {in mode three} send an X10 On signal to the address it is set to.
As long as the light control keeps the relay on. Your X10 device stays on.
When you turn off the light control. Relay turns off. Powerflash send an X10 Off signal.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2011, 10:51:20 AM »

After the Lift Master 395LM Remote Light Control provides current to the DPDT 10 AMP RELAY how will it stop/reset itself?

Boomer, this is an X10 forum, not a Liftmaster forum. I didn't really read about the Liftmaster light control, but my "WAG" would be the button on the door remote programmed for the Liftmaster light control, would toggle the light each time the button is pressed. I am not sure your door remote is even compatable with the Liftmaster Light Control. You need to confirm that. Maybe call Liftmaster? Or check your Sears store, they may sell the Light Control module which *should* explain workings.

BTW you got 100% on the test.  :D
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2011, 10:55:59 AM »

Google the Sears Part Number.
I got lots of hits including LiftMaster references.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 11:03:48 AM by Brian H »
Logged

purple lizzard

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2011, 11:36:44 AM »

Thanks for the info I will contact LiftMaster.
It just seems as if their unit would act like a X10 plug-in lamp module.
If you turn it off at the lamp it will not turn on again since it is switched off at the lamp not the X10 module.
I just don't understand how after switching the LiftMaster light modle on it ever gets reset back to off.  Since there is no "X10" type programing to set it back to the off state.  I will ask LiftMaster.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2011, 05:18:47 PM »

If you turn it off at the lamp it will not turn on again since it is switched off at the lamp not the X10 module.
I just don't understand how after switching the LiftMaster light modle on it ever gets reset back to off.  Since there is no "X10" type programing to set it back to the off state.  I will ask LiftMaster.
Well maybe the Liftmaster light control is timed for the off,  or maybe you turn the light off at the light socket then turn the socket switch back on making it ready for the next press of the door remote, or maybe Liftmaster assumes you will carry the door remote into the house to turn off the controlled lamp. Yeah call liftmaster because appearently none of this X10 forum regulars have the Liftmaster Light Control.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: Can a garage door opener be used to control X10 modules?
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2011, 06:28:07 PM »

If you read the sales page. It seems to indicate you push the learned button on the remote and the light goes on or off. Depending if it was already on or off. Maybe like a toggle button.
Liftmaster is the best place to verify things.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.