Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Pre-sales Questions  (Read 13558 times)

kamiller42

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 30
Pre-sales Questions
« on: January 17, 2011, 02:32:19 PM »

OnAlert promises it can monitoring, emails, etc. Can it do all of this without a PC always on at the home? Or, does this system need a CM15A connected to an always on PC?

If it doesn't need a PC, does it negate the need for something like the PS561, or do the two work hand in hand? Or, can I just setup the sensors and a CM15A, and OnAlert has all it needs?

I bought one of these ActiveHome Pro kits. It says it comes with Home Security Solution SW39A. I click the link, and it brings me to the OnAlert page. Does this mean my kit came OnAlert?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 241
  • Posts: 7616
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 02:39:30 PM »

The CM15A needs to be connected to a always on PC.
the plug-in works without the need of a ds7000 security console.
looks like your kit comes with
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 02:41:48 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

kamiller42

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 30
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 02:57:20 PM »

Thank you for the speedy reply.

So other than a loud siren, what does a DS7000 offer that a PC + CM15A + OnAlert doesn't?
Logged

lviper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 231
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 03:09:49 PM »

Thank you for the speedy reply.

So other than a loud siren, what does a DS7000 offer that a PC + CM15A + OnAlert doesn't?

The only other alert you get with just a ds7000 with a security console is phone dialing. It will dial up to 4 different phone numbers with a pre-recoreded message you set.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 241
  • Posts: 7616
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 03:15:16 PM »

Also with the ds7000 you have the option to silence the alarm and listen in!
Not that you want to hear your place being trashed! :(

Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

kamiller42

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 30
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 03:36:37 PM »

Wow, listening in on a break-in. I would probably bust a blood vessel in anger hearing the thieves. Can I use it as a loudspeaker to let them know how I feel? ;)

Can one of the numbers be 911 where it would give an automated message? Or, is that forbidden by 911 regs? If not 911, maybe the direct line to the police. No?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 241
  • Posts: 7616
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 03:49:50 PM »

I would just stick to family and or friends numbers anything else may get you a stiff fine.
Nope you can't speak to the intruders and tell them to get lost, sound is only one way.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

lviper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 231
Re: Pre-sales Questions
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2011, 03:54:09 PM »

Wow, listening in on a break-in. I would probably bust a blood vessel in anger hearing the thieves. Can I use it as a loudspeaker to let them know how I feel? ;)

Can one of the numbers be 911 where it would give an automated message? Or, is that forbidden by 911 regs? If not 911, maybe the direct line to the police. No?

I don't know about the load speaker and talking back, but for the numbers dialed you would need to check with your local police department. A while back, when I had a shop with an auto dialer, I went to the police department and asked how I could handle the dialer calling 911. They said since it was a recorded message I couldn't have it call 911 or them. They suggested I have it call a neighbor or someone who could verify the breakin and they in turn call 911. Not very helpful were they? Anyhow, I lived a block away from the shop so I had it dial me and I would go verify the alarm.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.