Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011  (Read 22108 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #30 on: January 30, 2011, 07:27:37 PM »

The X10 wiki was even updated to reflect the Soft Start list of modules in the later AHP versions.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Newer_Wall_Switches_and_Preset_Dim
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6840
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #31 on: January 30, 2011, 08:48:45 PM »

Nice idea, Dave, but a bit too complicated for what I'd like. 

Thx.... and I know what you mean. I don't feel compelled X10/automate everything in my home ether. But this time of year (around here) the weather can restrict many of my normal activities. I often refer to this time of year as "Automation Season". Sometimes I create an automation project... merely because I CAN. To me... that's the hobby side of X10. Constructing a new project or adding a new feature to an automation setup exercises our X10 skills and keeps the interest alive.

A project that sounds too complicated.... but looks good on paper... can be a great bit of entertainment during these long winters.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #32 on: February 10, 2011, 08:31:45 PM »

I found a new way to convert old .ahx files to work with 3.305.  Open AHP 3.305 and load an old .ahx file.  Room by room, click on any module you need to change.  For Lamp Modules, right click on the module and change it from Lamp to Old Lamp.  You can do the same process for wall switches.  For any lamp or wall switches that are soft-start and using the LM14A to control it, you can make them regular lamp or wall switch modules.

I've already  converted 8 ahx files that way.   Saves a bunch of time, about 6 minutes per .ahx file.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #33 on: February 10, 2011, 09:27:11 PM »

I found a new way to convert old .ahx files to work with 3.305.  Open AHP 3.305 and load an old .ahx file.  Room by room, click on any module you need to change.  For Lamp Modules, right click on the module and change it from Lamp to Old Lamp.  You can do the same process for wall switches.  For any lamp or wall switches that are soft-start and using the LM14A to control it, you can make them regular lamp or wall switch modules.

I've already  converted 8 ahx files that way.   Saves a bunch of time, about 6 minutes per .ahx file.

How is that "new"? THAT's the say that we originally were doing it, but you said you had too many modules and too many AHX files to do it that way. What method were you using BEFORE doing it this way?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #34 on: February 10, 2011, 10:29:58 PM »

I found a new way to convert old .ahx files to work with 3.305.  Open AHP 3.305 and load an old .ahx file.  Room by room, click on any module you need to change.  For Lamp Modules, right click on the module and change it from Lamp to Old Lamp.  You can do the same process for wall switches.  For any lamp or wall switches that are soft-start and using the LM14A to control it, you can make them regular lamp or wall switch modules.

I've already  converted 8 ahx files that way.   Saves a bunch of time, about 6 minutes per .ahx file.

How is that "new"? THAT's the say that we originally were doing it, but you said you had too many modules and too many AHX files to do it that way. What method were you using BEFORE doing it this way?

The answer is NOTHING!!!!  I never did use 3.305 before as timers would not work, but now they ALL work.  Plus you can convert a .ahx file in about 6 minutes.  Plus you can get rid of every LM14 module you used for soft-start modules and wall switches.  The plus to doing it this way is you don't have to use a text editor to make changes.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #35 on: February 11, 2011, 10:19:26 AM »

... I never did use 3.305 before as timers would not work, but now they ALL work.  Plus you can convert a .ahx file in about 6 minutes.  Plus you can get rid of every LM14 module you used for soft-start modules and wall switches.  The plus to doing it this way is you don't have to use a text editor to make changes.
Dan -
I guess I misunderstood. I though that you weren't using 3.305 because it was too much work to go through all of your AHX files, and change the module types. That's why I looked into editing the AHX file directly. I figured that for really big files, using a "search and replace" method on the AHX file would be faster than manually changing each module within AHP.

I'm glad to hear that 3.305 is working for you.
Logged

ps653

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #36 on: February 11, 2011, 02:46:01 PM »

Quick question - is there a reason that New AHP Version 3.304 Released 1/14/2011 is stickied at the top of this forum, rather than this thread?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #37 on: February 11, 2011, 07:44:14 PM »

Because 3.305 was issued AFTER 3.304 was.   
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 09:54:07 PM by Dan Lawrence »
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2011, 07:31:42 PM »

Quick question - is there a reason that New AHP Version 3.304 Released 1/14/2011 is stickied at the top of this forum, rather than this thread?

Because I'm not a moderator, so I can't sticky/unsticky threads.
Logged

rnorton888

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 41
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2011, 09:36:58 PM »

Will the 3.05 work with Windows 7 64bit without having to use XP settings? My old compuer craped out xp and I need to get a new one.
Thanks
Randy
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2011, 11:57:40 PM »

Will the 3.05 work with Windows 7 64bit without having to use XP settings? My old compuer craped out xp and I need to get a new one.
Thanks
Randy
I've been running AHP on windows 7 Pro 64-Bit for over a year now. Started with version 3.236 on that PC (that was the most current version when I migrated over to that new PC), and have been running fine (no Windows issues) ever since. I've upgraded as each new version came out, and I'm on 3.305 with no problems.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9423
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #41 on: February 13, 2011, 12:26:38 PM »

Quick question - is there a reason that New AHP Version 3.304 Released 1/14/2011 is stickied at the top of this forum, rather than this thread?
Fixed. It was just one of those things that slipped threw the cracks!
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #42 on: February 13, 2011, 05:16:06 PM »

Quick question - is there a reason that New AHP Version 3.304 Released 1/14/2011 is stickied at the top of this forum, rather than this thread?
Fixed. It was just one of those things that slipped threw the cracks!
 >!
Easy to see how that happened. For a few weeks, we were getting updates faster than we could report them, even. (One of us would report a bug or two, and all of a sudden there would be a new release).
Logged

joh1135

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2011, 06:56:20 PM »

Question

I am running AHP 3.3.01 and when I go to HELP and "CHECK FOR UPDATES", I get a box that states I have the latest version and no updates are needed?

And when I was looking for another problem on this forum, I came across this?

Just wondering why my AHP doesn't know there were 4 updates that I didn't get.

 ??? ???


Dave
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: New AHP Version 3.305 Released 1/20/2011
« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2011, 07:05:42 PM »

Maybe just the way it is working these days.
I had 3.228 and it never flagged any updates for me either.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.