Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Any X10 device you can query?  (Read 6335 times)

BitsNBytes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Any X10 device you can query?
« on: March 11, 2011, 04:24:29 AM »

I have a home project using the CM15a to toggle lights and receive sensor messages, etc. Now I need a solution to determine if a device has lost power. I need an X10 device I can simply query to see if it responds. Does there exist a cheap x10 module which will simply echo a response when tickled? Preferably one that is power line and not RF.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: Any X10 device you can query?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 06:11:44 AM »

There are almost no X10 devices that respond to a status request.
Though it also is a transceiver. The RR501 will respond to a status request.
You can probably find an RR501 fairly inexpensive on some of the web automation sites.

The Smarthome Insteon and Icon switches and modules. Can have an X10 address programmed into them and they will also respond with a on or off. Difference is if they are a dimmer and in a dimmed condition. Then they respond with a %dim response that X10 chose not to use. Over the extended messaging method.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 06:17:22 AM by Brian H »
Logged

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: Any X10 device you can query?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 08:35:01 AM »

The PR511 Motion Monitor dual floodlight will respond (Poll) to a query, but I think it's about the only one available (currently) from X10.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 08:41:34 AM by JMac »
Logged

BitsNBytes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: Any X10 device you can query?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 01:12:25 AM »

OK.. I bought a RR501. Does anyone know what codes I send it and what response I would expect to get back? Can't seem to find much on Google for the protocol of the RR501...
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12703
Re: Any X10 device you can query?
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2011, 06:11:48 AM »

There are a few files on X10 protocol here:
http://www.davehouston.net/

Basically you send an X10 Address command matching the RR501s.
Then House Code Status Request.
It will answer back.

Here is a sample capture from an RR501 and an Insteon 2456S3 switch with a X10 address in it.
You will see requested the status.
Then turned it on.
Requested the status again.

Smarthome 1132CU controller and Smarthome Essentials Software.
RR501 Address A9:
T: A9 - 10:28:24 AM 3/11/2011
T: AStatus Request - 10:28:28 AM 3/11/2011
R: AStatus=Off - 10:28:28 AM 3/11/2011
T: A9 - 10:28:33 AM 3/11/2011
T: AOn - 10:28:34 AM 3/11/2011
T: A9 - 10:28:39 AM 3/11/2011
T: AStatus Request - 10:28:41 AM 3/11/2011
R: AStatus=On - 10:28:42 AM 3/11/2011

Insteon 2456S3 ApplianceLinc X10 address A15:
T: A15 - 10:28:45 AM 3/11/2011
T: AStatus Request - 10:28:52 AM 3/11/2011
R: A15 - 10:28:52 AM 3/11/2011
R: AStatus=Off - 10:28:53 AM 3/11/2011
R: A15 - 10:28:53 AM 3/11/2011
R: AOff - 10:28:54 AM 3/11/2011
T: A15 - 10:28:58 AM 3/11/2011
T: AOn - 10:28:59 AM 3/11/2011
T: A15 - 10:29:04 AM 3/11/2011
T: AStatus Request - 10:29:05 AM 3/11/2011
R: A15 - 10:29:06 AM 3/11/2011
R: AStatus=On - 10:29:06 AM 3/11/2011
R: A15 - 10:29:07 AM 3/11/2011
R: AOn - 10:29:07 AM 3/11/2011
Logged

BitsNBytes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: Any X10 device you can query?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2011, 10:38:10 AM »

I really appreciate the info. Tks...
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.