Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: active home on wifi  (Read 9567 times)

raimor

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
active home on wifi
« on: March 27, 2011, 12:10:14 PM »

I would like to see the active home migrate to a web based wifi module.  If the module was web based wifi, I could change the programming and control my lights from any computer on my network.  It also would mean that I could plug in the interface into any free outlet in my house without the need of any cables.

Also with a configurable web port, the wifi active home module could be controlled from anywhere in the world.

The configuration file could be downloaded from the module and stored on a computer for backup purposes in case the module needed to be reset.  The firmware could easily be upgraded much like current web based IP camera's.
Logged

lodtrack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 103
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 07:41:51 AM »

I don't think that this will happen anytime soon. In the meantime, Logmein.com offers a free way to access your Home automation PC and control it from your network or anywhere else with Internet access....works great.
Logged

lviper

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 10
  • Posts: 293
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 01:33:12 PM »

If you just want access from your local network at home, use VNC. I use UltraVNC and it's free and they have clients for almost any OS.
Logged

luke03

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 83
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2011, 02:30:04 PM »

You may take a look at WebControl device sold on Amazon. It works nicely with X10 controlled devices.
Logged

ROGIS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2011, 02:18:31 PM »

In Spain there is a central home automation x10 of your dreams. But its price is a nightmare. His name is EyeTouch

http://www.domoticausuarios.es/pantalla-tactil-para-domotica-x10-eyetouch-2-0/2225/
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2011, 05:46:13 PM »

The only problem is European X10 won't work in the US or Canada due to the difference in electric power.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

ROGIS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2011, 06:39:18 AM »

There may be the U.S. version, like the SC1200.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: active home on wifi
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2011, 08:16:58 AM »

Which seems to be totally out of stock, at least on X10USA, other dealers may have it.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.