Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Wireless motion sensors  (Read 42205 times)

bkenobi

• PI Expert
  • Helpful Post Rating: 24
Wireless motion sensors
« on: March 29, 2011, 01:05:52 PM »

Yup, another thread about the MS16A...sorta.

I have a few MS16A ActiveEye motion sensors that I've been playing with for a few months now.  The unit transmits far enough now that I have a modded CM15A antenna, but the issue is detection.  I find that for my purpose, it has too short a detection range, too narrow a field of view, does not detect fast enough (or at least send a signal quick enough), etc.  Otherwise, it works brilliantly!   B:(

I've seen a few threads about the Heath Zenith sensors and the glowing reviews related to them.  What I haven't seen is a "guide" or detailed descriptions or pictures of a modified unit to work with X10.  I'm looking to use this for my driveway to trigger both lights and a chime.  I know I could simply use the unit as is and leave it out of the X10 setup, but I was wondering if anyone has taken the steps to mod it with either DS10A or PowerFlash since I assume the unit does not send X10 RF signals.  I figure it's not too difficult, but if someone has done this already, it would be worth a review!

Oh, and FWIW, I'm looking at the SL-6032 right now although I know the SL-6030 is what most people have looked at in the past.  The primary difference is the wider angle of view (240° versus 180°).
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 01:13:03 PM by bkenobi »

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Wireless motion sensors
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2011, 01:18:39 PM »

$0.02
I'm probably not giving any new information but how do you have your MS16s oriented? Any PIR motion detector is most sensitive to a warm body moving across the field of vision. Least sensitive to movement directly towards or away from the detector.
"This aftershave makes me look fat"