Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions  (Read 4388 times)

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« on: April 05, 2011, 10:08:38 PM »

First - I am a NEWBIE.  I have an interesting problem.  I am monitoring my windows.  The windows can have two acceptable positions - closed or open to a fixed "lock" position (based on a lock cam installed in the upper window leaving a two inch opening).  I need to have both of these positions seen as closed as either is acceptable.  An interesting quandary - any ideas !!!!
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 10:51:08 PM »

Get an extra magnet and mount it to the window?
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 05:11:00 AM »

As Knightrider stated above.  The second magnetic contact should be installed in series with the first.  Just remember to Disarm the unit before moving the window to the "new closed" position.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 06:12:13 AM »

An added magnet that lines up with the switch should do it.
If you added a second magnetic switch both would have to be covered at the sametime.

If you have the new DS12A it can actually be used for two separate zones. The internal one and an added external one on the terminal block. Register as two separate zones. In fact I am only using the external ones on mine. Fancy trim on doors meant no easy way to mount an line up the internal ones.  ;D
Logged

bt54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 93
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 10:01:40 AM »

Thanks to one and all !!!
I drew the circuit so that I could figure out the logic.  I thought that parallel wiring would make it work.   My thinking is that only one set of magnets was necessary to close the circuit.  I'm guessing that the sensor works in NC mode.  I was going to test it tonight BUT you saved me the time and effort.

THANKS AGAIN !!
Logged
If it doesn't work get a BIGGER hammer!!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5955
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2011, 10:28:42 AM »

Thanks to one and all !!!
I drew the circuit so that I could figure out the logic.  I thought that parallel wiring would make it work.   
I'm confused, you are adding only a second magnet, so where does the "parallel wiring" come in?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: Window Monitoring - TWO available positions
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2011, 12:37:47 PM »

You can either mount an extra magnet so it is next to the magnetic switch in the other position.
Other way would be a set of magnet and switch in each position. Since the circuit is normally closed when not triggered. You are correct they go in parallel. With either one closed to be happy.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.