Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: X10 Home Automation using Java  (Read 6451 times)

skeeper360

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
X10 Home Automation using Java
« on: April 07, 2011, 11:03:41 PM »

Hello Everyone! I am interested in doing a project in ActiveHomePro using Java. Question is How do I access my cool Active Home stuff from Java? I want to have the same functionality in Java as is provided by the SDK.
Logged

pconroy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 294
Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2011, 10:01:59 PM »

You can't access the existing AHP "stuff" from Java.  Java runs in a JVM and is pretty "sandboxed".  If you were dead set on a tie between the two, you'd have to write some C/C++ code to access the AHP "stuff" then wrap that C/C++ code with JNI so you could call it from Java.

What other's have done is just gone all Java - and they communicate directly with the CM15A or CM11A.
That's not an easy road to take but others have done a lot of work for you.

Jesse Petersen (sp?) comes to mind as an author of some great Java code to access the CM11A/CM15A.
Logged

ITguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 105
Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 09:30:12 AM »

There's also an open-source project based in Italy that's almost all Java.  Supports not just X10, but other HA as well.  You can check it out at: http://code.google.com/p/freedomotic/
The site is (mostly) in English.

ITguy
Logged

skeeper360

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2011, 05:01:04 AM »

Thank you so much for the replies! I really appreciate it.

In addition, there was a guy in here who figured out the solution using the  -:) com4j.jar(https://com4j.dev.java.net)

I'm not sure if this will work out but you might want to check this out guys.  http://justdevelopment.blogspot.com/2010/03/x10-active-home-automation-with-java.html

He kinda explained everything. 




« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 05:10:41 AM by skeeper360 »
Logged

pconroy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 294
Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 05:19:42 PM »

Wow - if that ain't cats and dogs living together...  :o


 ;D
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.