Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Trouble with www.control.x10.com  (Read 23273 times)

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« on: April 15, 2011, 09:10:06 PM »

 ??? I am having trouble opening www.control.x10.com with IE8 and IE9.  Are there some browser settings that I have to change?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 09:20:53 PM »

I just got there via Firefox 4.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12838
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2011, 06:13:56 AM »

I tried to open the link and IE8's security settings needed my OK to install an Active X Plug In from X10. If it was a trusted site.
Logged

lodtrack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 103
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2011, 07:18:09 AM »

I tried to open it with IE 9. It asked to load an addin and it crashed the tab.
Logged

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2011, 07:27:05 PM »

Since I posted my first message, I have tried to access the site through Firefox and Safari (iPad).  A small X10 ad shows up and nothing else.  Using Internet Explorer still produces the error message "This tab has been recovered, etc.".  Has anyone been able to access the website lately?
Logged

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2011, 10:25:18 PM »

Well, guess what.  Now something called "Orca Monitoring Service" comes up instead of the usual PanTiltPro screen.  Are we seeing the end of free PanTiltPro self-monitoring via internet?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2011, 10:41:01 PM »

Strange again.  In Firefox 4 it still shows the small x10 ad.   So, as you said, "Are we seeing the end of free PanTiltPro self-monitoring via internet?"

X10USA does some strange things.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2011, 12:51:45 AM »

FireFox does not support ActiveX controls, so you're wasting your time using FF with any of the X10 based net control.  AFAIK,  it's IE or nothing.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2011, 02:10:08 AM »

Knightrider, do you know if I have to turn on some specific ActiveX permissions on my IE8 browser so I can access http://control.x10.com?
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2011, 10:43:08 AM »

Modraker:

I'm not sure, but the last time I used any of it (X10 or IE) there was a yellowish bar that asked for my permission.  Alas, I'm a FireFox kinda guy for the last several years, and a LogMeIn user for remoting.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12838
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2011, 12:43:03 PM »

Yes I got the yellow warning line from IE8 and it asked if I wanted to install an ActiveX plug in from X10.com.
Logged

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2011, 04:57:07 PM »

Brian H, what happened after you allowed the ActiveX request?  I've given permission for the X10 ActiveX program to install and still got the "This tab has been recovered" error message.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12838
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2011, 05:54:04 PM »

I didn't try it.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2011, 06:04:02 PM by Brian H »
Logged

modraker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2011, 09:23:21 PM »

Knightrider, thank you for reminding me that there's more than one way to skin a cat. -:)  I used LogMeIn.com and it's working beautifully.  :)%
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Trouble with www.control.x10.com
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2011, 09:27:44 PM »

Glad I could help.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.