Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?  (Read 12692 times)

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116

Just wondering if I should give up my CM11A for any reason. Are there any benefits to switching over to another unit?
Logged

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 01:22:00 PM »

This driver supports the cm19.   http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=22933.0

I have it installed on Ultimate Edition Ubuntu and it is working great.   >!
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 02:50:24 PM »

Any benefits to switching?
Logged

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 03:23:17 PM »

Well, I don't own a cm11 so I really couldn't comment too much on it.  I understand that the cm11 has memory that you can download to I think.  The cm19 is just a rf transceiver.  You would need something like the tm751 or pro model or some other powerline interface to receive the signal from cm19 and then put it on the powerline.

This driver also supports the cm15 which is a powerline and rf transceiver.  You still can't download to it from Linux though.

My problem is that I don't a thing about programming, so I have to wait for someone to create a gui or a program that can use this driver.

I have made a small gui just to turn on lamps and such, and am using cron to schedule some stuff, but this is all testing right now.
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2011, 04:25:04 PM »

I own a software company, I'll have something built if it'll somehow generate revenue.
So the only way to avoid radio frequency signals is to use the CM11A? I don't like the idea of the TM751 because someone can stand outside my house with a remote and access things. I want it self contained and wired.

Is it true the CM11A can't receive status from the devices? Like if they're on or off? Or if a window contact device was triggered?
Logged

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2011, 04:32:25 PM »

Someone else will have to chime in here.  As I said I don't own a cm11 so I know nothing about them.  I don't  know if the cm11 transmits and receives rf.  I do know that the cm15 does rf and plc.  I believe there is already software out there for the cm11 that is free of charge. (Heyu)(Misterhouse) and couple of others.

I personally would like to see a Linux software for the cm15/cm19 which has rf.
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

ITguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 105
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2011, 04:48:59 PM »

Quote
Is it true the CM11A can't receive status from the devices? Like if they're on or off? Or if a window contact device was triggered?

This is not really a problem with the CM11A (same for CM15A).  The problem is that almost none of the X10 devices send a status confirmation or change signal!  So if you manually turn on an X10 lightswitch, it sends nothing to let the controller know it has had its status changed!  I think there are a few Insteon devices that can be configured with an x10 address and do send a status change signal.

Quote
Or if a window contact device was triggered?
The security devices (window/door switches) do send a status change signal, but AFAIK, only AHP can read them and act on them.

ITguy

Logged

mmauka

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 41
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2011, 05:45:12 PM »

So the only way to avoid radio frequency signals is to use the CM11A? I don't like the idea of the TM751 because someone can stand outside my house with a remote and access things. I want it self contained and wired.

The CM15A supports power line and RF. If using mochad, you can turn off RF to power line conversion ("rftopl 0") so RF remote controls will no longer work.

Or if a window contact device was triggered?

mochad reports events from RF security devices such as the DS10A, MS10A, and RF security remote controls using either the CM15A or CM19A.

If you developing a commercial application you might want to consider supporting other home automation technologies as Zwave and Insteon. The hardware costs more but I think status polling is standard.
Logged

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2011, 11:30:35 AM »

Is the CM15A better than the CM17A?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12632
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2011, 01:19:02 PM »

CM17A is a serial device and only sends X10 RF signals. It has no RF receiver in it.
CM19A is a USB device. Has a RF transmitter and Receiver. No power line interface.
The CM15A is a USB device. Has both an RF transmitter and receiver. Along with an X10 power line transmitter and receiver.
Logged

Deemar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 116
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2011, 02:27:10 PM »

Oh. So basically the CM15A is the best one? Any disadvantages to it? I need to figure out which hardware I'm going to support if I build this.
Logged

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 02:55:36 PM »

Yes, IMO the cm15 is the best.   :)
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

ITguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 105
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2011, 05:13:19 PM »

Count me as another vote for the CM15A.  Supporting both RF and PLC gives increased versatility!

ITguy
Logged

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 05:23:04 PM »

Yes, I believe the cm15 is the one!  Oh, wait a minute.  I already said that!   >!
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5941
Re: Been away for a while. Does Linux have CM17A/CM19A support now?
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 05:32:50 PM »

Oh. So basically the CM15A is the best one? Any disadvantages to it? I need to figure out which hardware I'm going to support if I build this.
I vote for the CM15A too. CM19 is very limited in capabilities.

"Any disadvantages to it?"    rofl

Yes. But they are fixable.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.