Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: DS700 Supervised Security Sys  (Read 4377 times)

ZippoDistributor

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
DS700 Supervised Security Sys
« on: May 10, 2011, 03:04:05 PM »

We're trying to reinstall system but just plugging in AC sets off the "Security Console" horn.  Is there some reset or something I'm missing?
Can't get passed the console alarm to move on to modules/horn et al.

Help.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: DS700 Supervised Security Sys
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 10:01:50 AM »

$0.02

The "reset" is to unplug and remove all batteries including the security and ARM/DISARM remotes and then do a complete re-install. If the horn starts instantly on plug-in, the console may have a problem. If it take a moment maybe a arming remote is sending a PANIC code.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

ZippoDistributor

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: DS700 Supervised Security Sys
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2011, 11:22:17 AM »

$0.02

The "reset" is to unplug and remove all batteries including the security and ARM/DISARM remotes and then do a complete re-install. If the horn starts instantly on plug-in, the console may have a problem. If it take a moment maybe a arming remote is sending a PANIC code.

Thanks for the input Dave.
Unfortunately, nothing has batteries in it, console, key chains, portable console or any of the sensors. Solely Plugging in the console set off the console horns.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: DS700 Supervised Security Sys
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2011, 11:47:16 AM »

Try putting a battery in the console.
Though my gut feeling is the console is defective.
Logged

JudyH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: SC1200 Supervised Security Sys
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2011, 01:21:47 PM »

Hello Brian -- I seem to be having some of the same problems I see reported here - one siren out of 6 total that will not sound; window and door sensors that install just fine, and then suddenly indicate "problem" or "window/door open" or "low battery".  Changing batteries does no good, and the indicated door or window is never open.  I've installed new sensors only to have the same problems.  I've got the SC1200 now, but did have the DS700 -- exchanged due to its limitations.  I had experienced having to take out the batteries and unplug to correct any sensor problems.  Now this morning I have a new "problem", I accidentally triggered the alarm, and now the console horn makes a much different sound than it did previously.  Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated.  JudyH
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 06:51:26 PM by JudyH »
Logged

pseeker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 12
  • Posts: 125
Re: DS700 Supervised Security Sys
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2011, 12:52:22 PM »

JudyH, you're going to have to tackle one problem at time.  I am X10 newby and purchased a SC1200 and had some of the problems you described. It is frustrating and would have returned if I weren't a technically oriented.  You should do search thru forums to deal with each problem one at the time.  To get you stared:

1) > now the console horn makes a much different sound than it did previously
   See http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=23127.0
   I had to RMA SC1200, don't know if it will fix the sound

2) >window and door sensors that install just fine, and then suddenly indicate "problem"
   See http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=22973.0

In my case door sensors would out range "some of the time" so had to re-oriented and passive attenna added.  Ironically, Using your hand to push the test button made your body a passive antenna.   So I had to use long wooden stick to prove it was within range and added a wire as passive antenna.   Another side note, I also found that the wires connecting to magnets acted like an antenna so repositioning might help

Good luck

Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.