Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: ninja question  (Read 8919 times)

kenrad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 198
ninja question
« on: May 10, 2011, 09:32:05 PM »

I am looking at hooking up my ninja to a direct 12v system without the x10 power supply  I just want these to continually sweep will this work or does it need the address power supply.  I am installing them on non x10 cameras that already have a dedicated 12 supply to them.

Thanks
KenRad >!
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7057
Re: ninja question
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 09:41:27 PM »

Does your "direct 12v system" have all the extra amperage needed to handle the cameras AND the ninja?
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10096
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: ninja question
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 09:45:11 PM »

I'm not sure this would work!
Doesn't the ninja get its x10 address from the power supply?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 292
  • Posts: 12840
Re: ninja question
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 06:25:48 AM »

If you are only using one Ninja Base and power it all the time. It will follow the RF commands as it does not use power line signals for Pan and Tilt.

The addressable supply only selects if the base with camera {if an X10 one and powered by the Ninja Base} is active or not.

If you have more than one powered on at a time. They all will follow the same RF pan and tilt commands.

Here is the link to the Ninja Power Supply. It shows what connection is constant 12 volts for the camera instant on feature and which one is normally switched for the base and camera RF transmitter signal control.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/XM14A
« Last Edit: May 11, 2011, 07:50:23 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: ninja question
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 08:04:28 PM »

I have (4) Ninja P&T setups. I can tell one to sweep then move to a different camera. When I switch back to the one I told to sweep, it is still sweeping, following the preprogrammed setting I gave it. I'm not sure why you would need to power them with a separate power supply. They should sweep continuously even when switching to another camera. I'm using the addressable power supply for the X10 P&T base with camera. I can also sweep more than one camera at a time and they run their independent program without stopping, even when switching cameras.

Hope this helps!
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.