Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: CM11A vs. CM15A  (Read 16497 times)

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
CM11A vs. CM15A
« on: May 16, 2011, 03:37:57 PM »

Question?

Is the only difference between the CM11A and the CM15A is in the fact the 11A plugs into a serial port and the 15A is USB?
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12851
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 03:43:09 PM »

No. Completely different devices. Both hardware and software wise.

Also the CM11A has been discontinued for many years now. Except a few EBay dealers found one last 2010 production run and have them for sale.

CM11A uses Active Home Software and may have problems with XP and above.
CM15A uses Active Home Pro and optional plug ins software.

Some third party Automation Software can use either one.
Logged

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 03:46:43 PM »

Thanks Brian!

I had an 11A and sold it in a bunch of X10 items I didn't think I'd need. NOW ... I need the darn thing. From your description of these two devices, I think I'll look for a 15A since I'm now running Windows 7.

Trying to set my AHP back up and guess what? Found out I don't have enough hardware!

Thanks again for the info.

Phil
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 03:48:35 PM »

Two more differences:
1. The CM15A can send and receive RF (The CM11A can't).
2. The CM11A has a three-prong plug (with a pass-through outlet). The CM15A has a two-prong plug, with no pass-through outlet.
Logged

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2011, 03:51:51 PM »

Two more differences:
1. The CM15A can send and receive RF (The CM11A can't).
2. The CM11A has a three-prong plug (with a pass-through outlet). The CM15A has a two-prong plug, with no pass-through outlet.

So ... with the 15A I would no longer need the CM19A to control my cameras from my desktop? Or ... am I mistaken?
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!

ErikP

  • Guest
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2011, 04:17:39 PM »

I don't know what cameras you have so I can't say for certain, but yes the CM15A can transmit the same wireless commands as a CM19A, so there is no reason I can think of why you would need the CM19 if you had a CM15.

also...  3.314 which should be out soon will add support for the CM11 to ActiveHome Pro.  Obviously due to hardware limitations it won't be able to do everything the CM15 does, but it will be a nice inexpensive transceiver option for those who just want a simple power line command driven setup.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12851
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2011, 04:30:20 PM »

Very interesting AHP 3.314 will have some CM11A support.
I may have to unpack my CM11A and try it when 3.314 is released.
Logged

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2011, 04:59:45 PM »

I don't know what cameras you have so I can't say for certain, but yes the CM15A can transmit the same wireless commands as a CM19A, so there is no reason I can think of why you would need the CM19 if you had a CM15.

also...  3.314 which should be out soon will add support for the CM11 to ActiveHome Pro.  Obviously due to hardware limitations it won't be able to do everything the CM15 does, but it will be a nice inexpensive transceiver option for those who just want a simple power line command driven setup.


I have both XCam2 color cameras and NightWatch B/W cameras.  Since the CM15A transmits wireless commands, I hope I don't have to use the CM19A anymore. I'm running off a laptop and don't have a ton of USB ports. Do you know if you can run this off a USB hub? I know the 19A says NOT to try to use it with a hub but possibly the new one will work off a hub.
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6097
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2011, 05:28:25 PM »

Do you know if you can run this off a USB hub? I know the 19A says NOT to try to use it with a hub but possibly the new one will work off a hub.
CM15A should work off a hub. I had one on a powered hub for a while. The CM19A runs off USB power, so non powered hub could cause problems.

I should clarify this. The CM19A is USB powered and because of the RF transmitter may be drawing heavy USB current. So is easy to imagine it will not work on a non powered USB hub if other USB powered devices also share the hub, but I did not mean to imply the CM19A will work on a powered hub. Because the CM19A is a dumb I/O device it may not be able to share a USB hub, powered or not.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2011, 02:48:22 PM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Phil45680

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2011, 05:32:21 PM »

Do you know if you can run this off a USB hub? I know the 19A says NOT to try to use it with a hub but possibly the new one will work off a hub.
CM15A should work off a hub. The CM19A ran off USB power so non powered hub would cause problems.

See ... POWERED Hub would have solved the problem, which is what I happen to have. Wow, I could have been using that thing all along! The X10 information never bothered to tell that. I will have to dust it off. It's been packed in a drawer for some time.
Logged
Be Careful! For the toes you step on today may be connected to the butt you have to kiss tomorrow!

hawk1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 625
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2011, 07:11:51 PM »

ErikP:  Is it also going to support the cm17 firecracker?  Just asking, cause I got one just hanging around.  By the way, I want to thank you for replying in the forum!  Lets users know that X10 is listening to them!   #:)
Logged
koopr@sstelco.com, I don't know what I'm doin but I'm havin fun doin it!

ErikP

  • Guest
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2011, 07:28:59 PM »

We didn't target the CM17 specifically, and it is unlikely the CM17 will incidentally work because of the CM11 changes.

sorry  :-[

And you are welcome!  We love the feedback the forums give us, and we do our best to make everyone happy :)
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2011, 08:25:08 PM »

We love the feedback the forums give us, and we do our best to make everyone happy :)

I just love the feedback the programmers are giving us.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2011, 11:22:27 AM »

...  3.314 which should be out soon will add support for the CM11 to ActiveHome Pro...

You mentioned support for the CM11A here, and you also mentioned the MyHouseOnline fix in another thread.
Are there other bug-fixes or features coming in 3.314?
Logged

ErikP

  • Guest
Re: CM11A vs. CM15A
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2011, 02:14:45 PM »

The CM11A functionality is the primary focus for 3.314 so no bug fixes other than the MyHouse Online connection one.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.