Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: ActiveHome for Windows 7 (not Pro)  (Read 10448 times)

Mavrik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
ActiveHome for Windows 7 (not Pro)
« on: May 21, 2011, 02:18:10 PM »

I just upgraded from the CM11A to the AHP with a CM19A from ebay.  Only to find out that the CM19A is computer based and not independant like the CM15A (and CM11A) requiring my computer to be on at all times, how stupid is this design. (I run modules 24/7/365). The seller is not responding, so I'm screwed. I would like to go back to the CM11A (has worked great for decades) but windows 7 won't install AH. Is there any programs I can use with w7 and the CM11A?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: ActiveHome for Windows 7 (not Pro)
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 04:15:11 PM »

To use the CM19A you need (and should have gotten) a TM751 transiever to put signals on the powerline.   X10 does not make the CM11A any more but you might get one on e-Bay.  To use the CM11A you need a serial port.  Active Home software is at http://software.x10.com/pub/applications/activehome/
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5898
Re: ActiveHome for Windows 7 (not Pro)
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2011, 04:50:11 PM »

I just upgraded from the CM11A to the AHP with a CM19A from ebay.  Only to find out that the CM19A is computer based and not independant like the CM15A (and CM11A)
This is caveat emptor. Upgrade to a CM15A and AH Pro.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12460
Re: ActiveHome for Windows 7 (not Pro)
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 12:55:27 PM »

Well in the AHP thread on updates. The X10 programmers indicated the next update is going to also support the CM11A and is soon to be released.

http://forums.x10.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=417ht016lcmf0du3v97pkvahq3&topic=23550.msg134296#msg134296
« Last Edit: May 22, 2011, 01:00:29 PM by Brian H »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.