Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?  (Read 10483 times)

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« on: June 22, 2011, 10:27:47 PM »

 B:(  I must be stupid... I installed the SDK and have a CM19A.  Went to the AHSDK folder not a whole lot there. 

bin folder nothing will run except ahcview. Active Script I get Windows error needs to shut down.

Help!

Todd
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 09:41:10 AM »

Make sure you have the latest version of AHP (3.315) and the latest SDK installer (Updated 05/16/2011).

When you say "nothing will run", what is happening? Are you getting errors?

ahcmd.exe is a command-line program. There is no graphical interface for it.
Logged

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2011, 12:24:20 PM »

All new updates installed. ahcmd.exe will not stay open, keeps closing. If I click on Active Script I get Windows error do I want to report to Microsoft and needs to shut down.

Todd
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2011, 01:06:07 PM »

What version of Windows are you using?
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2011, 02:01:32 PM »

XP
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2011, 02:08:58 PM »

All new updates installed. ahcmd.exe will not stay open, keeps closing.

ahcmd.exe is a command-line program, so double-clicking on it will briefly pop open a command prompt, it will run (not doing anything since you didn't pass it any parameters), and then close.

In order to use it, you either need to run it from a command prompt, create a shortcut to it with the correct parameters, or use it with the proper parameters in a script.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9467
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2011, 02:23:48 PM »

kize37, are you trying to write a program with the SDK?
What language are you going to use?
The active home script must be accessed  from inside a project.
Stating which language your using could result in some simple example code.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2011, 02:26:48 PM »

... If I click on Active Script I get Windows error do I want to report to Microsoft and needs to shut down.

What are the file dates of these files in c:\program files\AHSDK\bin?

ahscript.dll
ActiveScript.exe
Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib.dll

Logged

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2011, 02:35:34 PM »

I understand now -:)  What would be the easiest way to code something like this.

I'm designing a Wireless System using the KR19a and the CM19a to receive the button presses which will trigger a key press event for my computer software.

Example:  When I press On 1 on a KR19a, CM19A receives this transmission and interprets it as the letter H being pressed on my keyboard for my software to detect.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9467
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2011, 02:41:19 PM »

What language code are you familiar with?
Microsoft makes a free programing kit for a number of languages.
Visual Express also has a wide support base.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2011, 02:46:55 PM »

Not really a programmer I'm a hardware guy. Visual Basic would be the best.

Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9467
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2011, 02:49:08 PM »

Okay, get the visual basic express.
There is a VB sample in the sdk/bin folder I believe!
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2011, 02:51:56 PM »

It sounds like you need to write something to monitor the CM19A for a specific command, then have it run a script of some sort to send the keystroke to your program. Since you are "not a programmer" (neither am I, by the way), you might want something a bit easier than writing it yourself.

If you have the SmartMacros plugin, you can try to create a macro triggered by the button press, that then runs a script created using AutoIt or AutoHotKey to simulate the keyboard press.
Those applications can (usually) direct the keypress at a specific application window.

Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9467
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2011, 02:56:56 PM »

The path to the VB sample is C:\Program Files\AHSDK\samples\vbapp\VBActiveHome.
It has been a while since I looked at that sample. ::) :'
Noams suggestion may be the best option for you unless you wish to dabble in programming.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

kize37

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Where is the SDK Scripting Interface?
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2011, 03:04:30 PM »

Thanks for the help! I completely understand now. Piece of cake :)%
« Last Edit: June 23, 2011, 03:07:19 PM by kize37 »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.