Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: how control WS467? newbie needs help for pool light  (Read 6163 times)

ej76az

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
how control WS467? newbie needs help for pool light
« on: July 10, 2011, 03:08:44 PM »

I am a total x10 newbie.

My pool contractor installed a WS467 (or maybe a PLW01) as the switch that controls my swimming pool light (400W incandescent).  The switch is located inside the pool equipment area in the far corner of the back yard.  I would like to be able to control the pool light from a switch inside the house, maybe an unused light switch or outlet. 

The contractor gave me a PAT01 and PHR03, but I hate these because they are so bulky and noisy and the last thing I need is another remote control floating around.  I don't need a wireless remote control that I could have anywhere in the house -- I just want to be able to control the pool light from a simple fixed switch somewhere near the door to my back yard. 

I thought the XPS3 might work, but a salesperson at x10.com said it's not guaranteed to work because of potential phase issues, whatever that means. 

Can anyone help me?

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: how control WS467? newbie needs help for pool light
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 03:32:05 PM »

XPS3 is a wall switch just like the WS467/PLW01. Except it has a relay in it and does not dim. It would not control the X10 switch you have.

If you just want to stop the PAT01 from Clunking . Switch the small 1-9 setting to the other position.

You can get an in wall controller that could control the light. Would mount in a switch box but would need both a line and a neutral wire in the electrical box.
http://www.x10pro.com/pro/pdf/xpt.pdf

Also there are a few table top units that could be plugged in to a wall outlet.