Contact | X10.com
October 24, 2014, 01:14:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SMOKE ALARM for Home Security Systems  (Read 9410 times)
hummelbill
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 1


« on: July 13, 2011, 08:55:29 AM »

Are there others like me who would like SMOKE ALARMS for their Home managed through the X10 Security Systems.  Please Voice you agreement so X10 can get designing and delivering.  How can you have a motion detection and door opening alarm and not offer smoke detection?  Makes no sense to me.  Smoke alarms are as important as motion or doors/windows.   Please provide your agreement or disagreement.  Thanks  Idea Idea Idea Idea
Logged
dave w
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 124
Posts: 5262


« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 10:20:02 AM »

Please Voice you agreement so X10 can get designing and delivering.  
laugh  You are new here aren't you?

The X10 Product Wish List does nothing more than take up space on the forum. It sounds good, but X10 does not react to suggestions. My point here to tell you to not get your hopes up. This request has been common since the forum was first started. Anywho, we ain't seen one yet.

Relative to that, there are a number of posts on this forum on adding smoke and CO3 detectors to the DS10 (even easier to add to a DS12A). You can search the forum but if you have DS12A it as simple as finding smoke and/or CO3 detectors with a contact closure output.

http://www.homecontrols.com/GE-Security-Photoelectric-Smoke-Detector-wRelay-and-Battery-Backup-GE350CX
http://www.selectsafetysales.com/p-217-kidde-smoke-alarm-relay-module-sm120x.aspx
Or "roll your own".
http://www.edcheung.com/automa/smoke_det.htm
« Last Edit: July 13, 2011, 10:42:50 AM by dave w » Logged

"This aftershave makes me look fat"
luke03
Sr. Member
****

Helpful Post Rating: 1
Posts: 83


« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 09:59:28 AM »

Dave W, great link. I like the idea of DIY to have an opto isolation IC then interface it with your existing system.
Logged
dave w
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 124
Posts: 5262


« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2011, 11:44:44 AM »

Dave W, great link. I like the idea of DIY to have an opto isolation IC then interface it with your existing system.
Yeah, optos make it easy to interface to just about anything with some diodes and resistors. I have not tried an opto with a Powerflash, but I think Brian H has tried an opto output directly across a PowerFlash with success. (i.e no additional power supplies). So all you need to engineer is the opto's input trigger.
Logged

"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Brian H
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 258
Posts: 11170


« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2011, 02:33:12 PM »

The only thing you have to watch with a solid state device is the polarity.
The + mark on the Powerflash case is the polarity for a DC input.

When in the dry contact input. The internally generated sensing voltage - is on the terminal marked + and sensing voltage + on the terminal marked -.  Grin

My ELK930 Doorbell Sensor didn't work until I found the polarity reversed. As it uses a opto output and steals the power to run it from the sensing voltage of the Powerflash Module.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2011, 03:14:02 PM by Brian H » Logged
aptalca
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 35


« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2011, 09:48:18 AM »

Check out this thread: http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=24104.0

I just followed it with a couple changes you can see in my post on that thread.

It was very easy and total cost under $20 including the smoke alarm
Logged
remrick
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2011, 05:33:21 PM »

DIY smoke alarm to a X10 door sensor at:

http://www.yourhouse2.com/X10smoke.html

Click the link to see schematic.

Cost under $10 +smoke det. +X10 door/window module DS10A
Later..
  Rian  Idea

NOTE I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT IF YOU DO THIS TO NOT USE THIS SMOKE DETECTOR AS YOUR ONLY DETECTOR.  INSTEAD PUT THIS MODIFIED ONE RIGHT NEXT TO YOUR REAL ONE.  BY DOING THIS YOU ARE MODIFYING THE DETECTOR AND IF YOU EXPERIENCE A FIRE AND THE DETECTOR DOES NOT WORK IT COULD BE SAID IN COURT/INSURANCE PURPOSES THAT YOU DAMAGED A WORKING PRODUCT AND THUS IT DID NOT WORK.  SO INSTEAD USE THIS IN ADDITION TO YOUR UNMODIFIED DETECTOR ONLY!
« Last Edit: August 09, 2011, 09:23:12 PM by remrick » Logged
TVRUK
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2011, 02:39:10 AM »

You're not trying to tell me that the UK finally HAS eomething the US doesn't - Are ya?Huh

Smoke detector SD18:-

http://www.letsautomate.com/12713.cfm?CFID=2356042&CFTOKEN=18539de-359e2037-ecbf-4c86-a52f-3c56152f35a5

Circa $40 'ish


Well I never.....


Regards,

Trevor

PS: X10 EUROPE - SUCKS!, what a crock.... Head Banging
Logged
dave w
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 124
Posts: 5262


« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2011, 07:08:25 AM »

You're not trying to tell me that the UK finally HAS eomething the US doesn't - Are ya?Huh

Yeah.
I think you also have a X10 touch screen controller also, don't you?

Now we need to find a way of converting your stuff to be compatable with our stuff!  laugh
Logged

"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | X10 Mini Timer
© Copyright 2013 X10.com All rights reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!