Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Door monitoring from pc  (Read 4762 times)

daveguy

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Door monitoring from pc
« on: July 13, 2011, 09:34:40 PM »

I'm trying to determine the cheapest way to monitor 2 doors from a pc. I haven't used x10 before and I want to make sure I buy the right products. I'm a software engineer so I'm interested in being able to write a program to monitor the status of the doors which I understand should be possible.

This is for an office environment where there are two bathrooms in far opposite directions. It is annoying to walk all the way to one and then have to go all the way to the other if it is occupied. I would expect a door sensor, motion sensor, or light sensor would work equally well in this case.

All of these sensors on the website appear to be related to the security products and I want to make sure what I buy can interface to my pc in some way and without buying a ton of security modules I don't really need. Can anyone advise?

HA Dave

• Helpful Post Rating: 175
Re: Door monitoring from pc
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 10:30:54 PM »

Without knowing the distances.... between restrooms and the monitoring computer/interface... it's hard to guess. The security devices: Door/window sensor (DS10A), motion sensor MS10A, can be monitored using a computer and the AHP (CM15A) software-interface... using the OnAlert software. Or...... an "eye" motion sensor (MS14A) could also be used with the same Active Home Pro interface and software (without OnAlert).

The limiting factor would be range in both cases. The sensor range would normally be about 50 feet. The forum is full of good antenna mods that can help with that. I'd try the OnAlert security plug-in if it was me as it allows for more mods and makes it easier to extend the Door/window sensor reed switch (using CAT5).
Home Automation is an always changing technology

dhouston

• Advanced Member