Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all  (Read 11694 times)

suesloan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« on: July 24, 2011, 02:28:59 PM »

I just received the new Video Sender Pro and replaced the prior older X10 Video Sender that I was using in hopes that the interference problems would be resolved. The picture is perfect. BUT, There is absolutely no sound at all. I had sound before with the older unit but it was low and had lots of static in it. Same TV, same location, no audio.

I used the old vcr cables first but switched to the ones that came with the new Pro, but that did not help. There are no audio controls on the TV except volume + and -. The TV is not muted. I can turn the volume to the max and I do not even get static!

Note that when I reconnect the older video sender the audio is coming thru fine.

Any ideas?
Sue B:(
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 02:43:25 PM by suesloan »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 283
  • Posts: 12224
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 02:39:34 PM »

You may want to try finding another analog audio source and seeing if it can send sound.
Logged

suesloan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 02:44:34 PM »

The old "sender" gives me audio on the same TV and cable box hookup. So I think I have a defective Pro.

Sue
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 283
  • Posts: 12224
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 02:49:44 PM »

Yes it does indicate a defective part.
Time to call or email X10 Customer Support.
Logged

Fan of Zappa

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 20
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 11:39:57 PM »

sueslone,

Can you elaborate on the "perfect" picture?  I am thinking about purchasing one, but as usual, I am hesitant. I have a 1580 SQFT home and can not get a clear picture using the old video sender and my wireless cameras. How far away is your receiver from your sender? How many walls? do you have cameras or are you just sending "Cable" signals? If you have cameras, are they positioned outside? I know, a lot of questions, But I'm on a need to know basis.

Thanks
Bob
Logged
Fan of Zappa - His music was way before it's time and died way before his time!

suesloan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2011, 09:21:05 AM »

Bob, this sender is from a cable TV box to a receiver located about 35 feet and upstairs so there is at least 2 walls and a floor between them.

Now that I have reconnected the older version sender, and increased the volume on the cable box, the picture and audio are both very good. If someone runs the microwave or stands in the way of the signal, I get lots of static in both picture and audio. I was hoping the new Pro version would not have that problem.

Sue
« Last Edit: July 25, 2011, 09:23:47 AM by suesloan »
Logged

suesloan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2011, 09:30:21 AM »

Yes it does indicate a defective part.
Time to call or email X10 Customer Support.

They agree and will replace the Pro!
 Sue
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 132
  • Posts: 5724
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2011, 09:48:40 AM »

If someone runs the microwave or stands in the way of the signal, I get lots of static in both picture and audio. I was hoping the new Pro version would not have that problem.

Sue

Sue, based on your description, the 900MHz Pro unit should improve things...if X10 can build some that work.

One question, does your microwave work OK? Door closes solidly, case in good shape, cooks like it did when new, etc? Has it ever been dropped?

It isn't unusual for a microwave to mess up the X10 powerline signals, but messing up the 2.4 GHz video RF signal transmitted from a camera *might* indicate you have some energy leakage from the unit.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2011, 10:05:40 AM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 283
  • Posts: 12224
Re: Video Sender Pro - no audio at all
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2011, 11:14:38 AM »

Wireless networks can be another 2.4GHz problem.

Also found a wireless sound system built into an LED Light Fixture.
Yes it also shares the 2.4GHz band.  :'
http://www.musiclites.com/default.aspx
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.