Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: I am new to X10, after I put order, I did some read, I found acutally X10 the  (Read 7185 times)

wyx2000

• Helpful Post Rating: 1

signal does not really weigh much in the whole line of products. It seems only the lamb socket rocket relys on it, when a transceiver send signal by power line. All the other products rely on RF, include the ActiveHome Pro.

The only thing I can think why X10 is used here is the size of the receiver(controller)? you can replace a lamb socket rocket with a transceiver if size is not a issue, then you don't need any X10?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2011, 03:38:07 PM by wyx2000 »

dbemowsk

• Helpful Post Rating: 21
    • PHP Web Scripting

What are you talking about???

It is not only lamp sockets that rely on an X10 power line signal.  In fact most of their products rely on a power line signal.

This whole post confuses me.
Dan Bemowski
Owner of PHP Web Scripting LLC
Programmer of RemoteWatch X10
User of any X10 products I can get my hands on.

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305

Almost all of the X10 modules depend on reliable power line signals.

wyx2000

Maybe I am wrong, that is what I am trying to figure out
Take example here. When someone come to my front door, I want the front light turn on. I want to make it a bit complex, I want my computer log the event and let it to control the light, so here is what I think will go in

1, Motion sensor pick the movement and send RF to "ActiveHome Professional Computer Interface and USB Cable (CM15A)" (I am not sure why CM15A named like that, I see it is a box with antena, I will think it is a RF sender/receiver that talks to computer, correct me if I am wrong)
2, Computer get command from the CM15A by USB (?), and the ActiveHome Pro software process it and we could have a script to send back a command to turn the light on