Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Interfacing with x10 camera's  (Read 6375 times)

Bloodari

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Interfacing with x10 camera's
« on: August 10, 2011, 12:17:19 PM »

Hey Guys!

I am an application developer who is getting into home automation.  I was looking at doing some neat things with some camera in and around the house but am a little worried about the lack of information around x10's camera systems.  I would like to setup some of their wireless cameras to the point where some of my own software could directly receive the video feed and run code against it, but it kind of seems like they don't allow for this.  From what I have gotten from sales reps you basically can only access the video feeds on your pc from their software, and that's it.  If so how does one go about recording video, and if I wanted to say host the video feed from my home pc so that it is accessible from the internet is that possible without buying more software?

Also what do you guys think of their new package(http://www.x10.com/promotions/xx32a_ed_6cam_0721.html?EM), a good deal for what I am looking to do?

Any opinions around the quality in the wireless xcampro lowlight cameras would be appreciated too!

ITguy

• Helpful Post Rating: 8
Re: Interfacing with x10 camera's
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 05:16:24 PM »

Hi Bloodari,

From what I have gotten from sales reps you basically can only access the video feeds on your pc from their software, and that's it.

Not true!  If you want to access the feeds from within their software, you must use their adapter (VA12A).  But there are other options.  Check out the open-source program call iHouse.  www.ihousehomeautomation.com  You'll probably be especially interested in the info in this post http://www.ihousehomeautomation.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=73