Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Is this noise or something?  (Read 3278 times)

wyx2000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Is this noise or something?
« on: August 18, 2011, 08:03:04 PM »

I have a lamp module named lamp, on A3, a sensor named sensor2 on A5.

The sensor doesn't always trigger, I assume it is the range between it and the CM15A.

But I see a log today in activity monitor "Receive   A On(Lamp, Sensor2)"
On the A5 module , I see "P Recv On(A3, A5)"

The A3 is in on mode.

What I don't understand is how it links A5 with A3 even A5 is triggered.

Any idea?
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6005
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 08:33:13 PM »

Your description is cryptic. 

You are right, this doesn't make any sense: "Receive   A On(Lamp, Sensor2)" since "lamp" is a receiver  and "sensor2" a transmitter so shouldn't be showing up on the same line.    What was the line preceeding this statement in the monitor?

But I'm going to say this again:  noise very, very seldom is responsible for turning on or off anything. Noise prevents the X10 command from getting to the target. So typically noise simply prevents actions from taking place. There are some instances where noise can "morph" the X10 address. But that is more likely to show as rogue HCUCs that are not in your system.

Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

wyx2000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 09:26:58 PM »

Your description is cryptic.  

You are right, this doesn't make any sense: "Receive   A On(Lamp, Sensor2)" since "lamp" is a receiver  and "sensor2" a transmitter so shouldn't be showing up on the same line.    What was the line preceeding this statement in the monitor?

But I'm going to say this again:  noise very, very seldom is responsible for turning on or off anything. Noise prevents the X10 command from getting to the target. So typically noise simply prevents actions from taking place. There are some instances where noise can "morph" the X10 address. But that is more likely to show as rogue HCUCs that are not in your system.

Right, I cannot think anything can trigger that, I don't have any macro or timer defined. See the screenshot below




See the A3 is on, actually the lamp module is off.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 01:23:52 AM by wyx2000 »
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 07:27:24 AM »

Empty the trash can (the green box  on the right side bottom with the recycle symbol.)
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

wyx2000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 07:37:02 PM »

Empty the trash can (the green box  on the right side bottom with the recycle symbol.)

That sounds a point, so I cleared the recycle bin.

I don't see A6 etc now, but I got A1, see below, I have two sensors, one is A5, one is B1, not sure what is the A1 from.

Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6005
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2011, 08:24:31 PM »

The motion sensors instantly default to HCUC "A1" upon battery removal. Could it be your A5 sensor after you jiggled the batteries?  -:)
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

wyx2000

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 67
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2011, 02:14:34 AM »

The motion sensors instantly default to HCUC "A1" upon battery removal. Could it be your A5 sensor after you jiggled the batteries?  -:)

:) when you see the answer, you wonder why it is so simple!

thanks!
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2801
Re: Is this noise or something?
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2011, 09:52:57 PM »

Empty the trash can (the green box  on the right side bottom with the recycle symbol.)

That sounds a point, so I cleared the recycle bin.

I don't see A6 etc now, but I got A1, see below, I have two sensors, one is A5, one is B1, not sure what is the A1 from.

I am guessing tour "Transceiver" is a TM751, right?
That has a set UnitCode of "1"," and it is on HouseCode A, hence the A1.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.