Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: looking for x10 compatible switches that report local status change  (Read 2762 times)

kenrad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 198

Does anyone know of any switches that report back to AHP their status when changed locally.  The local changes always seem to confuse my setup.  I have many macros set up to turn off lights after a set amount of time.  I currently use motion sensors for this but if the kids activate the switch locally then the system fails.  I use this as a energy saving attempt because with 5 kids all the lights are always on  >!

Kenrad
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: looking for x10 compatible switches that report local status change
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 10:06:51 AM »

Yes. Many of the "Smarthome" Insteon switches which are compatible with X10 send their status when they are switched locally.

http://www.smarthome.com/_/Dimmers_Lighting_Appliance_Control/Dimmers_Wall_Switches_Keypads_Touchscreens/Wall_Switches_Dimmers/_/z/1QV/2MD/nav.aspx

Look for "X10 Status" feature.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 10:14:53 AM by dave w »
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2518
    • davehouston.org
Re: looking for x10 compatible switches that report local status change
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 10:13:17 AM »


Genetically modified glow-in-the-dark kids would save even more energy. -:)

The Insteon switches (and modules) also report Dim level but X-10 software may not recognize that.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: looking for x10 compatible switches that report local status change
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 01:32:53 PM »

As Dave mentioned. The Insteon Switchlinc Dimmers. Send a %dim signal when dimmed or brightened.
They do send an On or Off at full On and Off.
I have tried one with AHP and if turned On or Off. AHP saw the changes. If brightened or dimmed. AHP missed the status updates.

SwitchLinc Dimmer With B1 X10 address added.

Paddle to dim up from Off.
Sent by Switchlinc:
R: B1 - 1:17:56 PM 9/21/2011
R: 55% Preset Dim 1:17:56 PM 9/21/2011

Sent by Smarthome 1132CU controller.
A status request to the Switchlinc.
T: B1 - 1:18:05 PM 9/21/2011
T: BStatus Request - 1:18:05 PM 9/21/2011
R: B1 - 1:18:06 PM 9/21/2011
R: BStatus=On - 1:18:07 PM 9/21/2011
R: B1 - 1:18:07 PM 9/21/2011
R: 55% Preset Dim 1:18:07 PM 9/21/2011
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: looking for x10 compatible switches that report local status change
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2011, 07:14:36 PM »

One more thought.
The X10 dimmer switches steal power through the load and only need a Line and a Load wire.
The Insteon and Icon SwitchLincs, KeypadLincs and TogglLincs to name a few. Do not steal power through the load and have to have a neutral power wire in the switch box. So replacing an x10 switch with one of them. requires you check for a neutral power wire or you maybe in for a unwanted surprise.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.