Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Low Battery Zone Error  (Read 4394 times)

DJAYA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Low Battery Zone Error
« on: July 23, 2011, 10:24:38 AM »

Had another strange problem last night.  I attempted to arm the system and it wouldn't, indicating that there was low battery on zone 14.  The problem is there is nothing installed in zone 14. I removed the supposed to be "not installed " zone 14 and its ok "for now". Seems like there are too many issues with the SC1200.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12872
Re: Low Battery Zone Error
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 11:40:36 AM »

Thank you for the report of another SC1200 problem.  ???
Not that I wanted to see more problems.
Logged

DJAYA

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Low Battery Zone Error
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 02:37:09 PM »

While there are issues, I still like the features of the sc1200. I upgraded from the DS7000 and
I have no plans to downgrade. Is it possible to do firmware updates for these consoles?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 04:19:51 PM by DJAYA »
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 138
  • Posts: 6102
Re: Low Battery Zone Error
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2011, 05:36:30 PM »

Is it possible to do firmware updates for these consoles?
$0.02
We are talking X10.....so I don't think so.
Most X10 gizmos use PICS (programable IC). Which generally, the programming is one shot. The X10 Icon and Nstinct remotes are a couple X10 products I am aware of that can accept formware updates. But generally X10 does not bother with circuits or "ports" for firmware updating since that adds to design and manufacturing costs. Which is anathema to X10.

Also, when X10 updates anything, they keep it secret. There is no acknowledgement of firmware version updates other than "the new gizmo works different than the old gizmo did". Apparently X10 tracks updates through date codes and internal stickers on the PIC.  So basically, firmware updates are accomplished through exchange.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12872
Re: Low Battery Zone Error
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2011, 05:54:29 PM »

I have only seen one X10 device that could in theory have the firmware updated.
Some early CM15As had a socket holding the programmed controller chip and you could exchange it.

The console has a surface mounted controller and I am not sure if it can be field programed. I also didn't see any programming pins or circuit pads on the main board.
Logged

JudyH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Sensor problems
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2011, 12:13:19 AM »

I have discovered that the orientation of the console is CRUCIAL in picking up the sensor signals.  IF my console is in the upright/vertical position, it rarely give a false open door/window signal.
Logged

ratchet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 71
Re: Sensor problems
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2011, 10:57:36 AM »

I have discovered that the orientation of the console is CRUCIAL in picking up the sensor signals.  IF my console is in the upright/vertical position, it rarely give a false open door/window signal.
Orientation and elevation of the sensors (Distance aside, i.e. obviously at some point distance will be a factor.) is important too.  It would seem that if a sensor is higher than the console, e.g. first floor console, second floor sensors, sensor orientation is of less significance.  However, I had a zone where the sensor was lying flat.  It was in the same room as the console, diagonally 17' away.  It was less than three inches lower than the bottom of the console.  At best it might go a few days without registering "Trouble" but usually at least once/24 hours.  I'd assumed it was a bad sensor until I traded sensors and zone and the same thing happened.  I've since mounted the sensor vertically and its been perfect for more than a week and the original sensor, in its new location, has also been perfect. 
Logged

sandro

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Low Battery Zone Error
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2011, 12:59:51 PM »

Had another strange problem last night.  I attempted to arm the system and it wouldn't, indicating that there was low battery on zone 14.  The problem is there is nothing installed in zone 14. I removed the supposed to be "not installed " zone 14 and its ok "for now". Seems like there are too many issues with the SC1200.
[/quote

i have the same problem to!!! and my power horn wont work!
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.