Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Usb keyboard  (Read 6608 times)

q711179

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 42
Usb keyboard
« on: September 15, 2011, 03:12:15 AM »

I plugged a usb keyboard in but was not able to get it working, in fact the device did not even
 acknowledge it was plugged in.  Any tips or suggestions?  BTW,  I installed the Swiftkey app and think it is working great withthis size tablet.
Logged

Tesla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 79
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2011, 04:07:44 AM »

I plugged a usb keyboard in but was not able to get it working, in fact the device did not even
 acknowledge it was plugged in. 

Same here.
Logged

YB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 173
  • Coders Are The Only True Evils In This World...
    • X10 WTI
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2011, 02:03:10 PM »

what kind of keyboards are you using? A standard generic keyboard worked great for me.
Logged
Michael Youngblood
Web Designer

q711179

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 42
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2011, 03:59:45 PM »

A simple keyboard from a mac. Gonna try again with a generic. Hard to come by one these days as all mine are bt. Like I said the swift keyboard is working great so not a high priority.
Logged

Tesla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 79
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2011, 04:23:30 PM »

what kind of keyboards are you using? A standard generic keyboard worked great for me.

Just a standard Dell USB keyboard. However, it does have a little USB hub built-in so maybe it was drawing to much power? I'll try to find a smaller one with no extra circuitry.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 04:33:00 PM by Tesla »
Logged

q711179

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 42
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2011, 04:52:34 PM »

Tried another keyboard and working great. Super easy.
Logged

X10 Dev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 125
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2011, 06:40:00 PM »

Just a standard Dell USB keyboard. However, it does have a little USB hub built-in so maybe it was drawing to much power? I'll try to find a smaller one with no extra circuitry.

That's the problem.  The Android ROM on the Airpad currently disables support for USB hubs.  We're working on re-enabling that support and releasing a new ROM.
Logged

J.B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 319
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2011, 06:50:43 PM »

Quote
The Android ROM on the Airpad currently disables support for USB hubs.  We're working on re-enabling that support and releasing a new ROM.


On a similar note, has there been any progress with support for bluetooth dongles?
Logged

fuzzynco

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
powered USB hubs (was Re: Usb keyboard)
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2011, 09:51:43 PM »

I thought to use a powered hub to connect more than one device.
The hub provides 5v @ 500mA to each of its ports.

if there is a new firmware release coming out -- how does it get applied?
Will I need a special driver for firmware load mode? Windows 7 Pro.
 
I've used hboot and ruu's on my HTC phone and clockworkmod recovery
on my phone and NOOK color. I understand rock-chip has utilities for
manipulating the on board flash memory, but I've been unable to
find them or documentation on how they are used.

Could someone give me a URL to download the utilities and directions
for use?

I do have the Android SDK installed and ADB works as expected.
Logged

X10 Dev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 125
Re: powered USB hubs (was Re: Usb keyboard)
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 04:27:47 AM »

if there is a new firmware release coming out -- how does it get applied?
Will I need a special driver for firmware load mode? Windows 7 Pro.
 
I've used hboot and ruu's on my HTC phone and clockworkmod recovery
on my phone and NOOK color. I understand rock-chip has utilities for
manipulating the on board flash memory, but I've been unable to
find them or documentation on how they are used.
The firmware gets applied by installing a special driver for Firmware load mode and connecting the Airpad with the Airpad's ESC key held down.  I have posted the Airpad's factory ROM in a new thread.

If you are technical and wish to decompile the ROM into component files and rebuild new ROMs, then there is discussion of that sort of thing, along with additional tools, over in SlateDroid's "Unlisted RK2918" forum.

We don't yet have a firmware fix for USB hub support.  I will post a new ROM when that is available.
Logged

fuzzynco

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Firmware load mode (was Re: Usb keyboard)
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 08:49:04 PM »

Where do I get the Windows 7 driver for load firmware mode?

With the special driver installed, I hold the key and plug the
client port into the laptop? Is there a Windows 7 side
loading program to select the file and send the data?

Logged

X10 Dev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 125
Re: Firmware load mode (was Re: Usb keyboard)
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2011, 11:53:54 PM »

Where do I get the Windows 7 driver for load firmware mode?

With the special driver installed, I hold the key and plug the
client port into the laptop? Is there a Windows 7 side
loading program to select the file and send the data?



http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=25052.0

Do these instructions help?
Logged

fuzzynco

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
rk flash utilities (was Re: Usb keyboard)
« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2011, 12:28:29 AM »

OK I follow what to do.

is 110920_002_airpad_rooted.img
the same as the other with
superuser.apk and su added?

do I use rkdump in adb to img the
flash 'partitions', instead of dd
to replace nandroid backup?

I thought maybe a shell script
to run all the 'partitions'?


« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 12:44:24 AM by fuzzynco »
Logged

manielse

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2012, 05:26:29 PM »

Figured I'd reply to this similar subject rather than starting a new post to consolidate any future searches.

I'm also having issues getting a USB Keyboard to work. I purchased a case with a built-in keyboard (specifically http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004TJJPG8/ref=oh_o02_s00_i00_details ) along with a HDE USB A Female to 5-Pin Male Adapter ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002S7PS8M/ref=cm_cr_asin_lnk ). I did so as it was the exactly the config someone else had success with inside the comments of Amazon (I'm assuming he did not Root the device). Verified that that the keyboard works on a PC.

I have the Airpad 7p with ICS (4.0.1 - NOT Rooted). I can't seem to figure out how to get the Android Tablet to see the keyboard. Any advise of what I need to do or what I'm doing wrong is appreciated.

Thanks!
Logged

samato11

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Usb keyboard
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2012, 05:20:05 PM »

I purchased the same keyboard/case and have the same results. It works with my pc, but not the Airpad 7 ICS
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.