Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: HDMI output  (Read 5905 times)

J.B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 319
HDMI output
« on: September 18, 2011, 07:21:44 PM »

I've noticed when using the HDMI output that the screen on the device itself blacks out.
This can make some things quite difficult to navigate and am wondering if there is something I am missing to keep the devices screen from doing this while using this feature.
Logged

Immortal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 02:42:36 PM »

I saw that also on other tablets maybe its related to the os, i hope there will be an update to solve that
Logged

YB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 173
  • Coders Are The Only True Evils In This World...
    • X10 WTI
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 05:10:38 PM »

As of right now, there are not many chipsets on the market that offer dual visual outputs.
Logged
Michael Youngblood
Web Designer

DemDave

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 50
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 06:01:43 PM »

The photo on the product page shows an Airpad plugged into a television with both screens showing the same image. This certainly gave me the impression that the Airpad screen could be active at the same time (in a mirrored fashion, presumably). Might I kindly suggest that you remove the photo or somehow clarify this on the webpage (http://www.x10.com/promotions/airpad_7_inch_android_tablet.html?HOME) ?
Logged

asastssk

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2011, 04:24:21 AM »

I've noticed when using the HDMI output that the screen on the device itself blacks out.
This can make some things quite difficult to navigate and am wondering if there is something I am missing to keep the devices screen from doing this while using this feature.

This chipset doesn't support the dual display as has been mentioned. I was too disappointed when getting the tablet. Currently as a workaround, I have found that if you plug in a mouse, a red cursor will show up on the screen. This helps for selecting things, but of course leaves no possibility for apps with multitouch.. unless maybe a multitouch trackpad?

The left click works as a tap, holding it is the same as a long press. The right click works to open context menus. I have been using this to play angry birds, but helps when watching on netflix, or using inside a browser.
Logged

YB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 173
  • Coders Are The Only True Evils In This World...
    • X10 WTI
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2011, 04:23:12 PM »

The photo on the product page shows an Airpad plugged into a television with both screens showing the same image. This certainly gave me the impression that the Airpad screen could be active at the same time (in a mirrored fashion, presumably). Might I kindly suggest that you remove the photo or somehow clarify this on the webpage (http://www.x10.com/promotions/airpad_7_inch_android_tablet.html?HOME) ?

We have fixed the image as a result of your concern. Thank you for your feedback.
Logged
Michael Youngblood
Web Designer

bigDL

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2011, 04:05:30 AM »

Does that  mean we can get an update downloaded to fix our image?  Having the same problem.

Also when using HDMI on my 1080 bigscreen, functions of Air Pad are crispy clear, but when I played Netflix
Picture was pixelated and distorted.  Setting was for 1080P/60 HZ.  Pic was bad enough that I would not likely try to watch this way as a rule.

Thx
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2799
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2011, 10:03:09 AM »

We have fixed the image as a result of your concern. Thank you for your feedback.
Does that  mean we can get an update downloaded to fix our image?  Having the same problem.

I think YB meant they fixed the picture on the website to reflect the true operation of the video output port.
It now shows the image switching between the AirPad and the TV.
Logged

Tesla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 79
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2011, 02:11:03 PM »

Also when using HDMI on my 1080 bigscreen, functions of Air Pad are crispy clear, but when I played Netflix
Picture was pixelated and distorted.  Setting was for 1080P/60 HZ.  Pic was bad enough that I would not likely try to watch this way as a rule.

Interesting ... Do you think Netflix resolution and bitrate is lower since it's a mobile device? It looks good on the small AirPad screen, but not much there to work with when it comes to upscaling it. Where-as the Netflix stream sent to a device meant to be displayed on a large screen (like a AppleTV, Roku, Panasonic TV, etc.) looks fine upscaled large because the stream is richer/better/fuller-bandwidth to begin with.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 04:10:15 PM by Tesla »
Logged

EProie

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2011, 08:34:03 AM »

I am using (AmazonBasics High-Speed Mini-HDMI to HDMI Cable with Ethernet (6.5 Feet/2 Meters)
trying to attach the Airpad to a Samsung Plasma TV.  I get the message "Unsupported Mode" message on the TV.  I have tried all the outputs on the Airpad with the same results.  Anyone have a clue if this cable is the problem or something else.  Here is the Link to the specs for the cable. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ES5ZR8 Can someone tell me what cable they got it working with.
Thanks,
Eric
Logged

Motor2of7

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2011, 12:58:05 PM »

I had the same problem on my Samsung monitor.  I'm using a quality Belkin cable. What's the trick to getting this to work?

So far this tablet hasnt done anything well or easy.  B:(
Logged

EProie

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2011, 07:18:44 PM »

I did get the AirPad to work with my Vizio LED TV.  For some unknown reason it won't work with my 2 Samsung Plasma TVs.  Do you think it's a problem with just Samsung TVs?
Eric
Logged

RonWhitePigeon

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: HDMI output
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2011, 04:38:48 PM »

I had the same HDMI problem.  I tried it on 3 different HD TVs.  It didn't seem to work at any resolution I tried.  I accidentally found the answer.  I powered down the AP after I changed the resolution, powered it up and it worked. The AP must only change resolution when the power is cycled.
You need to check your HDTV manual to see what resolution it will support.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.