Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: false opening signal from door sensor  (Read 8937 times)

essmjay

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
false opening signal from door sensor
« on: September 21, 2011, 02:08:06 PM »

I just installed the DS7000 security system. I am in Run2 mode so the door opening triggers the chime. I have two doors I leave open frequently. About every thirty minutes I get the chime that means door is opening, even though no door is opening. There are no trouble lights flashing and the console has the two open doors with a steady light indicator. Any thoughts as to why this is happening?

Shane
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 02:28:27 PM »

Security Modules send a signal periodically to indicate they are alive.
If the door is open. It sends an Open signal evertime it checks in.
Maybe the DS7000 is chiming because of the I am alive transmission.
I can't test my theory as I only have a SC1200 that does not chime again.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 02:29:25 PM »

This is the way it is supose to work!
The door sensors send a signal every so often to indicate the status.
The chime isn't to indicate the door is opening more so that it is open.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

William8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 71
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 04:44:50 PM »

Odd, my DS7000 is in "Run 2 " mode. I only hear a chime when the window or door is first opened. It does not chime again when the window or door is left open, never has.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 07:09:46 PM by William8 »
Logged

npampel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 78
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2011, 05:42:55 PM »

That is odd.  My DS7000 acts just like William8's.  I have my DS7000 in RUN2 mode and during spring and fall, I will have windows open. The windows chime once as I open them and as the windows remain open the status light on the DS7000 is steady on for that specific open window.  It will not chime again unless close and/or reopen the windows.  I have had this DS7000 since 2004.

Cheers,
Nate
Logged

William8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 71
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2011, 07:14:20 PM »

I have one from 2003 and one from 2004. Maybe they have made changes?
Logged

essmjay

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2011, 10:51:56 PM »

Well, looks so far like two for "it's normal" and two for "it's abnormal" anyone else want to chime in?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2011, 08:19:38 AM »

I think they may have made changes (not unusually for x10) as both of my units will chime if a door or window is left open to long. ::) :'
I've remedied this for the windows by placing another switch in the windows open position.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2011, 08:21:36 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2011, 08:25:29 AM »

It does look like a hardware revision change.
Only X10 will know the exact answer and Date Code when the changes where made.

Found this in the X10 wiki:
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Run1_vs_Run2
« Last Edit: September 22, 2011, 08:27:32 AM by Brian H »
Logged

William8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 71
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2011, 08:34:49 AM »

That link says every 4 hours. Mine may do that, as I rarily ever have the windows open that long, and may not have noticed. The OP says his chimes every half hour though.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9424
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2011, 09:11:01 AM »

To be honest I don't remember the exact length of time it takes with a door or window left open before I get the chime.
However I was sure it was less then 4 hours.
If one opened several doors or windows at different times the chime could apear to be sooner then expected.
 ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2011, 02:44:10 PM »

I think the wiki is incorrect.
Four hours sounds more like the time period before a Zone is called a problem zone.

I did a quick test with AHP, OnAlert and a DS10A. AHP called it New DS10.
I got the initial New DS10 - Sensor Triggered then 57 minutes later another New DS10 - Sensor Triggered.
That was with the no delay switch in the DS10A.
If I set the delay. The Message changed to New DS10 - Delayed Sensor Triggered.

I had read somewhere. The DS10A sent an I am alive signal between 50 and 70 minutes. Each individual module maybe be different but the time was the constant from each individual one.
Logged

William8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 71
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2011, 04:14:41 PM »

I'll have to give this a try tonight, I'll open a window for a couple hours and see if the console chimes. Sure seems like I would have noticed it at least once in the last 8 years.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12666
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2011, 04:26:53 PM »

I am thinking X10 may have changed something in the newer ones and the older ones may just chime one time.

I can also see if you have more than one open and they check in at different times. Two or more open could recult in chimes every 30 minutes, if they where not synchronous.
Logged

William8

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 71
Re: false opening signal from door sensor
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2011, 06:27:21 PM »

I always thought the chime was to alert you if a door or window is opened when the system is unarmed. If it chimes when a window is left open, how would you be able to tell the difference between that, and someone entering the house? Seems like it would defeat the purpose, as you would just ignore the chime, thinking it's because the window is open.

Meanwhile, someone is in the garage stealing all your tools. :o
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.