Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Is it possible with x10?  (Read 5266 times)

helac

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Is it possible with x10?
« on: October 07, 2011, 08:27:42 PM »

Hello :)
I'm new to x10 technologies, and I have one question:

Is it possible to control 15-30 devices (2 operating regimes) within 1000 meters distance using x10?

Question may sound stupid, or meanless, so I will explain a bit. I'm electrical engineering student, and we started pilot project about controlling relatively small block of street lights using power line communication. Light bulbs have 2 operating regimes, full power and half power, so it's not just ON/OFF.
Local companies have huge interest in this project, if we complete it successfully, it will probably be implemented.
Currently, I'm trying to find most simple solution, and I'm in a dead end pretty much, so i appreciate any help!
I'm located in Bosnia&Herzegovina, Europe. (230V,50Hz)

If my topic is at wrong place, please give me some directions.

Sorry for potential English mistakes.

Regards,
Alen

dhouston

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
    • davehouston.org
Re: Is it possible with x10?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2011, 10:30:11 PM »

Possibly - but we need more details.

How much current per street lamp at full and half power?

Are the lights within a block interconnected with no transformers?

FYI powerline signals have been used for about 100 years by electric utility companies to handle switching, etc. From Wikipedia... "Low-frequency (about 100-200 kHz) carriers impressed on high-voltage transmission lines may carry one or two analog voice circuits, or telemetry and control circuits with an equivalent data rate of a few hundred bits per second; however, these circuits may be many miles long."
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.