Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.  (Read 2497 times)

serafinac

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.
« on: October 15, 2011, 07:52:58 AM »

On my securilink console, one of the numbers for a door/window sensor is blinking, but PROBLEM is not one the screen.  I am not able to set the alarm from the remote (as it just goes through the trouble sound), but can when I do it directly from the console.  The zone is NOT open.  There is nothing in the manual regarding blinking numbers.  What do I do?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 08:16:16 AM »

When you try and arm it. Does the PROBLEM message then display?
I am doing a test right now.
I will post results when I get them.
I suspect the sensor has not checked in with in the four hour window to detect a problem.

Logged

everydayflyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 190
Re: Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2011, 12:21:53 PM »

My  DS700 Owner's Manual  page 21:

If a zone indicator flashes slowly  ----------------One of the sensors have not reported in in the  last 4 hours.




Note if it is zone 9-16 it can be a bit confusing

I have had a couple of my Door / Window sensors to do this from time to time for no apparrant reason. Batteries good, indicator LED on sensors showing proper operation etc.  Most times it clears up by itself but once I had to remove the batteries for 5 hours and reinstall.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2011, 12:28:04 PM »

The Securelinc is the SC1200 not the DS7000.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12765
Re: Blinking numbers, but 'PROBLEM' not being displayed on console.
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2011, 01:23:34 PM »

Test finally timed out.
SC1200 added a new Door/Window Sensor. Then removed the batteries so it can't check in.
After the approximately four hours of no checking in. The zone number flashes.
The "Problem Zone #" message does not appear until you try and arm it. With a remote or from the console.
While the problem zone message is flashing if you hit the clear button on the console. Then rearm it. That zone is bypassed but still has issues.
It will arm one time but after disarming it again will cause the error.

It looks like the zone having the flashing number is not reliably communicating back to the console.
You may want to do a search here as I remember others having zones not checking in problems.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.