Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit  (Read 10008 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2011, 02:40:34 PM »

I do have a extra “input” on my USB tuner which I know I can configure under Windows Media Center.  I wonder if that would work?  It’s a Hauppauge 950Q TV tuner .
As far as I know. AHP will ONLY handle video from one of the X10 video adapters (VA11A, VA12A, VA13A). I don't think you can use an input from anyone else (although that would be really helpful to be able to do that).
Logged

JJtech

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 101
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2011, 06:03:12 PM »

I have seen some motherboards reported to not booting correctly with some USB devices attached.
You may want to see if yours has a setting to boot from a USB device and do a test with boot from USB device disabled.

Hey Brian,  Thanks.  I did disable the "boot from USB" and it didn't help.

For some strange reason, once and a great while, the screen won't freeze.  One time after a boot, I didn't touch anything for 10 minutes and when I came back, I was able to sign in.  Who knows?
Logged

JJtech

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 101
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2011, 06:05:51 PM »

I have seen some motherboards reported to not booting correctly with some USB devices attached.
You may want to see if yours has a setting to boot from a USB device and do a test with boot from USB device disabled.

Disabling the "boot from USB" didn't help me Noam.  It still locks up on me!  Any other ideas???

I had a similar problem with one of my PCs locking up at boot time, every so often (more often, sometimes).
I tracked it down to the receiver for my ATI RF remote. Once I unplugged that, the problem went away.
Perhaps I should try disabling the "boot from USB," and see if that fixes the issue with the remote.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6841
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2011, 07:46:42 PM »

...... I don't think you can use an input from anyone else (although that would be really helpful to be able to do that).

Noam is correct only X10's video adapter works with the X10 software. But other software can be nice too.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

JJtech

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 101
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2011, 08:03:22 PM »

Thanks everyone.  Just wish I could get the system to boot with it plugged in instead of having to unplug and plug it back in.

Anyone know how I can get Eric B. at X10 to respond?  I have tried many times over the years.
Logged

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 73
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2011, 07:13:44 PM »

I've got Windows 7 x64 and no issues rebooting.  Have you tried another USB port?  For some unknown Windows reason, that's cured a few USB issues I've encountered.  I had a problem running it from a powered hub though.
Logged

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 237
Re: VA12A not allowing reboot with Windows 7 64 bit
« Reply #21 on: December 30, 2011, 01:15:20 PM »

I got V12A. Installed on PC using Window 7, 32 bit and 64 bit and it did not work. So I got a replacement  from X10, and it did not work. Then decided to go back to XP and V11A. Now all is well. I was never happy with the quality of the pictures from X10 cameras and they didn't work at night anyway. So I decided to switched to something that gave good, clear pictures and without any static noise. So I switched to Foscam IP cameras for outdoor (so far) and am very happy with the results. Day and night very clear view. I can view these cameras on PC, iPad or iPhone on line or wifi. Also video has a good range.  I think I'll replace all cameras with Foscam.

IPS
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.