Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.  (Read 6649 times)

dsm382

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.
« on: November 20, 2011, 02:43:45 PM »

back in 2005 i had this up and working but today on my new win7 machine it won't load.
it is not recognizing my VA11A. 
so my guess is that is where the problem starts..??

i get this error when trying to start the VG software
 
any thoughts??

Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12678
Re: just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, 03:05:15 PM »

According to the X10 Wiki. The VA11A is not compatible with Windows 7 or Vista.
A VA12A is needed for Windows 7.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VA11A
Logged

dsm382

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2011, 06:09:51 PM »

oh, well that makes sense.  B:(

now to find it. oh okay $80????

hell guess i will just get that $129.00 camera kit, be cheaper that way... :-[
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2011, 08:36:36 PM »

According to the X10 Wiki. The VA11A is not compatible with Windows 7 or Vista.
A VA12A is needed for Windows 7.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/VA11A
Apparently, X10 now has a VA13A available (not sure if you can select it, or if they will start sending the VA13A after they run out of VA12A's).
The chipset is different, which is why there was an update to the drivers. However, all other functionality is supposed to be the same as the VA12A.
Logged

asinblue

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: just loaded Vanguard but it wont start.
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2012, 11:23:38 PM »

there is a work around for using the VA11A on Windows 7. Once you run the install, you modify the CA506AV.Inf . Its located here: C:\Program Files\Common Files\X10\DriverInstall\VA11A Video Capture. Open the file using Notepad run as admin and make these changes:
[SPCA506AV.CopyDrivers]
CA506AV.SYS
;STREAM.SYS

[SPCA506AV.CopyCodec]
;IYUV_32.DLL
;MSH263.DRV

The original file will not have the ";" in it. Don't make a copy of it, just modify the original. You may have to remove the device seen in DEvice Manager. It took me a few tries because windows will use the original drivers which will not work.

BTW, i'm having a problem with that rundll32 also. I got the older va11a working on win7 and vanguard was working until i installed a new security surveilance suite, that program did not even open up so i uninstalled, tried to open vanguard and now the dll crash. I was experiencing the same dll crash on a newly installed win xp machince soley built for the va11a and vanguard, so nothing else was running/installed.
The previous content of this post violated the posted X10 General Forum User Etiquette Policy and has been removed.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2012, 06:21:39 PM by Knightrider »
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.