Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Ethernet dongle  (Read 4935 times)

acheesehead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Ethernet dongle
« on: December 07, 2011, 01:40:44 PM »

Just got an Airpad-X, which has an Ethernet/USB dongle. I cannot access the Internet using this interface. I tried a ifconfig in the terminal window and it returns no information and ping does not work. I do not see the use of an Ethernet adapter if it cannot be used to access the Internet.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9549
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2011, 01:57:13 PM »

Have you tried looking in your routers settings?
While writing BlueWatch(wifi) I discovered many routers wouldn't allow an android device unless it was configured with MAC filtering.
Check to see that you router is seeing the device if so you may need to set MAC filtering to get internet.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

acheesehead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2011, 06:11:03 PM »

Have you tried looking in your routers settings?
While writing BlueWatch(wifi) I discovered many routers wouldn't allow an android device unless it was configured with MAC filtering.
Check to see that you router is seeing the device if so you may need to set MAC filtering to get internet.
 >!

Why wouldn't I see the adapter under ifconfig? I did not even see the wireless interface or the loopback. ifconfig prints *nothing*.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9549
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2011, 06:42:41 PM »

Some routers won't allow android or Iphones to be seen on the net work.
Some won't even allow a connection unless MAC filtering is used.
This means you won't find it with windows.
Are you using a router or trying to bridge a internet connection with a windows machine?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

acheesehead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2011, 06:49:30 PM »

Some routers won't allow android or Iphones to be seen on the net work.
Some won't even allow a connection unless MAC filtering is used.
This means you won't find it with windows.
Are you using a router or trying to bridge a internet connection with a windows machine?

I'm using it at work. I don't have access to the router. The wireless does not work either. I stood right next to the wireless AP and even power cycled it. The Airpad shows that it is trying to get an IP address and then gives up. Verified the wireless password twice. Power cycled the Airpad as well. No luck. My Android phone connects to the same wireless network no problem.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9549
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2011, 06:57:40 PM »

Is your Phone running the same OS version?
Was it company supplied?
Since your trying this at work there is very well security set up to prevent unauthorized connections.
You'll most likely need admin access to the router to be sure.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

acheesehead

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2011, 07:26:57 PM »

Is your Phone running the same OS version?
Was it company supplied?
Since your trying this at work there is very well security set up to prevent unauthorized connections.
You'll most likely need admin access to the router to be sure.

Yes, my phone is running 2.3.4. Not company supplied. SysAdmin gave me network password and it worked with no other configuration.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9549
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2011, 07:47:09 PM »

The airpad may be defective but Check with your SysAdmin in case there is a setting that was added for your phone.
Testing it a home will help determine if it is defective too.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

eldredg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2011, 12:00:14 AM »

I too have the problem of the ethernet dongle apparently not working. Nothing wrong with Wifi connection, so appears related to dongle. Connecting to a 5 port ethernet switch that has 2 windows pcs and a Ubuntu linux pc that connect with no problem. Will try at work to see if any different. Would be nice if there was some documentation on the Ethernet Network connection software on the Airpadx so one could troubleshoot to see what trhe problem might be. Perhaps a missing driver for the ethernet to usb dongle?
Logged

bigbear639

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Ethernet dongle
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 10:06:37 PM »

I have the oposite problem wifi will not stay connected to my encrypted router, it does connect to my guest router which it says is not encrypted, both are useing WAP. It does connect via a ETH Dongle.

My main problem is that when I try to connect via any computer to this group it refuses to recognize my password and I have to reset it although it is set to remember forever.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.