Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Play a WAV File  (Read 10999 times)

djames8

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Play a WAV File
« on: December 15, 2011, 12:43:41 AM »

Does anyone have a way to play a .wav file from a macro?
Logged

HA Dave

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 172
  • Posts: 6497
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 02:44:18 AM »

Does anyone have a way to play a .wav file from a macro?

I use a third party software (BVC). There are others available... some like ihouse are even free.
Logged
Modern automation is much more than turning things on and off.
The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7999
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2011, 08:39:45 AM »

As Dave stated there are other applications that you can use.
I've made a couple.
It depends what else you would like to do.
do you want it to speak text or just play a wav file?
If you don't want another application always running you'll need to use macros and send window commands.
If you wish to do that you need to find an application that has command line possiblities.
Check the thirdparty software section for software others are using.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 47
  • Posts: 2721
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2011, 08:59:58 AM »

Can't you just use Windows Media Player (or even Sound Recorder), and pass it the file as a parameter? You can pass parameters now in a macro command.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7999
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2011, 11:50:24 AM »

Yes!
If all you want is a Sound file to play.
Thats why I stated:
Quote
If you don't want another application always running you'll need to use macros and send window commands.
If you wish to do that you need to find an application that has command line possiblities.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

djames8

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2011, 09:17:42 PM »

 #:)Wow.. Thanks for the nice responses.  I'm new to X10 but very serious about learning and doing more.   To begin I'd just like to play a wave file from a macro but I have no idea how to add the .wav file to the macro. 
For example... when someone walks up to the door (and I get a code response from a motion detector)  I might like to play a self recorded .wave file that says something like " A visitor is at the front door".   
Or
When the water sensor in the basement goes off I'd like to send an email and play a macro on my computer that states "there's a water warning in the basement"
Again...I have no idea how to add a macro to call a wav file.   Does anyone have an example to share?
Logged

djames8

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2011, 09:21:33 PM »

I forgot to mention I'm using ActiveHome Pro as my starting point and I have done some simple macros but nothing fancy yet.   I think I'll need some help with a macro that passes parameters like playing a wav file.   I've downloaded BVC but haven't installed it yet.   
Again...thanks already for the helpful notes!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7999
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2011, 09:52:45 PM »

What interface do you have with AHP the cm19a or cm15a?
Some users for what ever reason  ??? have issues with the cm19a and BVC.
Some programs will do what you want without having to create macros.
PcCompanion is one, BVC will respond with voice or a sound file but last time I checked it wouldn't send email
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

djames8

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2011, 04:43:34 PM »

I currently have a CM15A interface.  I think I will move to the PC USB interface in order to use the full code base without adding more transceivers.  I've already installed a phase coupler and amplifier.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7999
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Play a WAV File
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2012, 08:09:25 PM »

Sorry for the slow reply.
With the CM15a your not as limited as if you had the CM19
It is best to get the unit as close to central and as height as possible so RF range doesn't become a issue.
Of coarse you could always do one of the many antenna mods posted about on this forum.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.