Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Alarm Triggers on Unarmed System  (Read 4318 times)

RETD

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Alarm Triggers on Unarmed System
« on: November 08, 2011, 01:54:55 PM »

Newbie here.

I've had an X10 home security system with the DS7000 console for about 7 years now.

It's been OK and for the most part works as advertised, with the occasional false alarm when the system is armed and the occasional random chime when we are home and the system is unarmed.

Recently however the DS7000 goes into its "alarm tripped" mode, sounding the siren, turning on the connected lights, etc. but the system is NOT ARMED (and no, it's not being armed by a neighbour with a similar system).  This has happened twice within the last 2 weeks, once in the middle of the night.  Trying to stop the siren by pressing "disarm" on the remote doesn't work (Why would it if it's not armed? ) and the only solution is to unplug the base unit from the wall and pull the battery.

Any thoughts or experiences with this?  TIA for any suggestions.

tom j

• Helpful Post Rating: 16
Re: Alarm Triggers on Unarmed System
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 09:05:15 PM »

Newbie here.

I've had an X10 home security system with the DS7000 console for about 7 years now.

It's been OK and for the most part works as advertised, with the occasional false alarm when the system is armed and the occasional random chime when we are home and the system is unarmed.