Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Need Help what my SR227 Problem!!!  (Read 3654 times)

g5star

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Need Help what my SR227 Problem!!!
« on: December 21, 2011, 05:34:13 PM »

Hey, there guys. I have been using my X10 setup for about 20 years and have had this problem for a very long time. I thought you might be able to help solve it for me. I have a SR227 Wall Outlet Receptacle in the mantle of my fireplace, for my Xmas lighted stuff or a basket of lights. When I push the on button, on my remote (HR12A), it clicks multiple time and then it is a gamble to catch it to stay on, this goes on for awhile. When I get it to stay on, all is fine until I go to turn it off. Nothing works for me to turn it off, the remote or Active Home Pro. It clicks rapidly twice or even 3 times (for 1 off button push) but will not turn off. I even have the RR501 transceiver module on the same wire as the Sr227. Eveything else in the same room works perfectly.  Light switches, 2 modules and I even have the fireplace on a UM506 universal module that is plugged into the Sr227, on the liveside of the outlet. Now you know my problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Need Help what my SR227 Problem!!!
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 06:17:45 PM »

If it is 20 years old.
It maybe just plain worn out or the grease on the ratchet is gummy.

If you have no load on the switched outlet. Does it still ratchet?

JMac

• Helpful Post Rating: 23
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 09:20:39 PM »

I had an appliance module with similar problems.  I replaced it (and after disassembly) found a component that had evidence of arcing and was essentially fried.  I suggest a replacement of the SR227 while you can still buy one.
I never smelled any smoke......

Dan Lawrence

• Helpful Post Rating: 68
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2011, 09:55:29 PM »