Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Two Macro Problems  (Read 12135 times)

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Two Macro Problems
« on: January 12, 2012, 07:12:26 AM »

I've encountered two problems when working with macros when trying to monitor my security sensors.

I've setup a bunch of marcos exactly the same that are triggered by my door sensors that call the appliance control to either send a an on command when opened or an off command when closed.  The first problem is when the sensor triggers the macro it is run twice.  The second problem is when I look at the activity log in ActiveHome Pro I see the command for example when my front door opens the activity log show -Receive RF 'Front Door - Sensor Triggered'  -Transmit K2  -Transmit K On (twice) which is what I expect but then when the door closes some of the macros don't send the off command they send the bright - commands.  In the activity log I get -Receive RF 'Front Door - Sensor Closed' -Transmit K Dim 100%  -Transmit K Bright 100% (again twice)

Any idea why either of these problems are occurring?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 292
  • Posts: 12839
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 08:52:12 AM »

Are the modules defined as Lamp Modules?
If they where called Lamp Modules. Which drop down list did you use. Lamp Modules or Older Lamps (before Soft Start)?
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2012, 09:14:15 AM »

The modules are defined as Appliance Module (2-Pin)
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2012, 09:18:09 AM »

Do you have ANY other modules defined on the same HouseCode / UnitCode combination?
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2012, 10:39:49 AM »

No, I used a completely different house code (K) for the dummy appliance modules.  All of my real modules for my lamps are on housecode O and M.

Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2012, 11:11:23 AM »

Do you have any old macros in your trash can? Sometimes those can still run, even after you delete them. You should empty the trash can (if there is anything in it).
do you have any other macros that are triggered by the same trigger, or by the same HC/UC combination?
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2012, 11:56:11 AM »

I read about the recycling bin a couple of days ago and emptied it out but the problem still persists. 
I only have one other macro that is triggered by a motion detector to turn on a lamp.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2012, 02:00:52 PM »

If you have a macro that is supposed to be controlling an Appliance module, but is sending "bright/dim" commands, then you might want to try deleting the macro, and re-creating it. It sounds like something got corrupted.
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2012, 03:32:16 PM »

I'll try doing that for all the one's I'm getting the Bright/Dim commands on.
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2012, 11:54:57 AM »

Thanks for the advice Noam.  Erasing the macros that had the problem and adding them again seemed to help except in one case where when the macro is triggered I get an on-off-on-off signal.  The only thing in the macro is an appliance off command.  I've deleted the macro many times and recreated it but it still persists.  I'm going to try and reset the switch itself and see if that helps.  Any idea on why when the security sensors trigger the macros are run twice?
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2012, 12:18:39 PM »

Any idea on why when the security sensors trigger the macros are run twice?
That's a bug. There is a link to the current (user-maintained) bug list in my signature.
Here is the listing for this bug in the list:

* Macros triggered by a security sensor are run twice, while macros triggered by a normal HC/UC are run only once.

This bug seems to have first popped up in AHP 3.318.
--Noam
Logged

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2012, 07:16:52 PM »

Re-installing the sensor fixed the on-off-on-off problem and it's now sending just one (two) Off commands when closed but my initial problem has returned.  About half of the macros have now reverted back to sending Bright 100% - Dim 100% instead of an Off Command.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2012, 07:19:15 PM by junebuzz »
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2012, 10:51:44 PM »

Rebuild your macros and see it fixes anything.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

junebuzz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Two Macro Problems
« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2012, 12:13:34 PM »

I've once again started from scratch.  Uninstalled all components and reinstalled.  And I've now added all the security components back into AHP and recreated all the macros.  So far it seems to be working.  I'll watch it though the day and see if it continues to work this time. 

Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.