Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: WS12A Wiring discrepancy  (Read 2118 times)

PeterJ

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« on: January 02, 2012, 12:03:47 PM »

I just noticed that the paper instructions (and online PDF) show the following wiring for a 2 way switch configuration:

Blue - Line
Black - Load
Red capped

However, on the switch itself the label printed on the back indicates:

Black - Line
Blue - Load
Red capped

Which is the correct way to connect this switch?
Does it matter?
Will either way work?

Thanks a lot.

...Peter
Logged

kenrad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 198
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 03:22:14 PM »

Just looked at one of mine that I have installed and the black is the line and the blue is the load.  They have  been running like that here for 3 years with no issues Im not sure that it makes a difference or not but that how mine are set up just make sure you are not running led of cfl on them they need the return feed from and incandescent bulb

 >! kenrad
Logged

PeterJ

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 03:46:55 PM »

Thanks Kenrad. Your wiring appears to be in line with what's printed on the back of the switch.

I was really asking because one I noticed when replacing a switch that stopped responding. I wired it according to the paper sheet that comes in the box, that's when I did a double take, because what's on the sheet and what's on the switch is not the same.

I have other switches that I have wired using the paper sheet, backwards from what's on the switch, and they work OK. I think I'll take a working switch and will wire it in the reverse of the current wiring and see if it still works and responds to commands.

...Peter

Logged

PeterJ

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2012, 04:30:15 PM »

OK, I tried the wiring both ways and it seems to work either way.

However, it would be nice if the written instructions and the instructions on the back of the switch would be consistent.

If you have anything to add, please do so. I'm wondering if anyone else has noticed this error in documentation.

...Peter
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12817
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2012, 05:54:53 PM »

It may make a difference if you where using the Red control function from a WS14A slave switch.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2012, 07:43:54 PM »

This error has been around for years, and there is some slight negative effect by wiring it with the black to the load.  Seems in some cases, that configuration can lead to a drop in signal and the unit will not respond to an off command.  Mileage may vary.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6086
Re: WS12A Wiring discrepancy
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2012, 12:02:21 PM »

in some cases, it triggers the triac in reverse wich can affect the stability of the light and then, tends to flicker more. With larger loads (2000W and more) with appropriate triacs, it can overheat the triac but it`s very rare.

 rofl
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.