Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.

Author Topic: VK82A doesn't work as advertized  (Read 89498 times)

kauko

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
VK82A doesn't work as advertized
« on: February 01, 2012, 03:32:23 PM »

I had a dream to put a TV into the basement front of my treadmill so I purchased VK82A.
VT51A transmitter and VR51A receiver.
Work fine thru sheet rock wall in 3 ft distance and 20 ft in empty room.
Put it to basement 90 ft away and two brick siding walls and no useable signal.   B:(

Anyone knows a working alternative?  :angel:
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 891
Re: VK82A doesn't work as advertized
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 12:05:00 PM »

I have non-X10 2.4GHz and 5.8GHz video systems, and I can only get about 40 to 50 feet out of them.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

X10 Repair Depot

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 311
  • I am here to help
Re: VK82A doesn't work as advertized
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 02:22:35 PM »

I had a dream to put a TV into the basement front of my treadmill so I purchased VK82A.
VT51A transmitter and VR51A receiver.
Work fine thru sheet rock wall in 3 ft distance and 20 ft in empty room.
Put it to basement 90 ft away and two brick siding walls and no useable signal.   B:(

Anyone knows a working alternative?  :angel:

90ft with 2 brick walls in the way is too far. Can you move the two units closer by adding a longer RCA cable? 
Logged

Alanburger

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: VK82A doesn't work as advertized
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2012, 06:09:23 PM »

My home has concrete floors on each level so I couldn't send a signal between floors with the new faster units, The older 12 meg units worked. I returned the units per the instructions on the RMA email, and after a month, I still can't get an answer to my refund. I have waited over an hour on the phone only to get hung up on. THat is no way to treat any customer. Lousy service.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.